Experience Jackson

141 S. Jackson St., Jackson, MI 49201

Historic Sites

If you love unexpected adventure, then Jackson, Michigan is your place. Jackson has a number of beautifully preserved historical sites and buildings for visitors to uncover while discovering spectacular architecture, art, religious inspiration and the region's transportation history. 

History on the Move: Historic Railroad Town

Can you hear the sound of a whistle? Jackson has been an important joining point for several railroads since the Michigan Central Railroad made the town its eastern terminus in 1841. Jackson boasted traffic from four other railroads by September 1, 1873, when Jackson’s Union Station was built. This Victorian-Italianate red-brick building has interior structures created from heart pine, ash, oak and walnut woods harvested in Michigan; this station once featured a telegraph office, baggage room, restaurant and more, with crystal chandeliers hanging overhead.

Amtrak restored the station in 1978, and it has seen several additional renovations since that time. In 2002, the depot was placed on the National Register of Historical Places. Michigan Central Railroad Jackson Amtrak Depot is the oldest continually operating passenger rail station in the United States, operating along the Amtrak Wolverine Line! Click for more on Jackson's Historic Train Station.

American Civil War: Experience the Heat of Battle

Jackson holds the honor of mustering the first volunteer regiment of Civil War soldiers in the state with 3,282 men of the First and Seventeenth Michigan Volunteer Infantry regiments marcched at the command of Gen. William H. Withington. It is said that Lincoln exclaimed "Thank God for Michigan!" upon the troops' arrival. Jackson's Famous Civil War Sites include Withington Park, Under the OaksEvergreen Cemetery and displays at Ella Sharp Museum

The Cascades Civil War Muster is the longest running, largest Civil War Muster and re-enactment in the entire Midwest. The Muster involves more than 1,500 re-enactors and more than 30,000 guests. The Muster features re-enactments of two Civil War battles each day at 2 pm.

Click here for more on the Cascades Civil War Muster.

Photos by Dale Fisher.

Experience Jackson's Prison History

Jackson is the home to Michigan's First State Prison. Here we embrace our prison history. After all, both Michigan’s First State Prison (1838-1934) and Southern Michigan Correctional Facility (1934-2007) were the largest walled prisons in the world! By 1882, Michigan’s First State Prison was about 20 acres with over 3,000 inmates and the Southern Michigan Correctional Facility had an enclosed area of 57.6 acres and nearly 6,000 inmates at its height. Click here for more prison history facts. 

Spend Some Time on the Inside

Cell Block 7, is the only prison museum in a closed cell block on functioning prison grounds in the world! The exhibits are designed to give attendees both the history and current state of corrections in Michigan. Click here for more information on Cell Block 7. 

Hear Tales of Crime and Corruption

Michigan's First State Prison is now known as Armory Arts Village, an artists’ resident community. The complex was listed on MSN in the top ten most unique places in the world in which to live. The Original Jackson Historic Prison Tour began in 2008 by author and professional storyteller, Judy Gail Krasnow. Call (517) 817-8960 to book your tour today! Click here for more information on The Original Jackson Historic Prison Tour.

Explore an Era With The Ella

In 1912, Ella Sharp’s farm and home were willed to Jackson for the creation of a park and museum, which opened in 1965. The Ella Sharp Museum features an 1860’s log cabin, the Dibble one-room schoolhouse, country store, print shop, doctor’s office, wood shop and the Merriman Sharp Farmhouse. Click here for more on the Ella Sharp Museum.

Satisfy your Curiosity

Fine art exhibits, a fully-furnished 19th century home that brings history to life and dozens of world-record whitetail deer buck racks are among the unique and eclectic displays waiting to be explored in Jackson County. These small unique museums add up to a weekend of arts and culture in Jackson. Click here for more unique museums.

Where It All Began: Under the Oaks Historic District


On July 6, 1854, a state convention of anti-slavery men was held in Jackson, Michigan,  to found a new political party. Since the convention day was hot and the huge crowd could not be accommodated in the hall, the meeting adjourned to an oak grove on "Morgan's Forty" on the outskirts of the town forever known as "Under the Oaks". A plaque honoring this event can be found at the corner of Franklin and Second Street. Surrounding this historic landmark, there are over 300 notable homes located in a 15 block historic district. Click here to read about the Under the Oaks Historic District.

A little bit of history, wherever you look. Check out our museums!

Historic Sites

All Saints Episcopal Church of Brooklyn

(517) 592-2244
Website | Facebook
151 N Main St.
Brooklyn, MI 49230

All Saints Episcopal Church of Brooklyn All Saint’s congregation was established in 1858.The cornerstone for the building laid on Christmas Eve, December 24, 1860, and construction completed in 1862. The building was formally opened on April 4, 1862, although... » More Information

Hours

Every Sunday 10:30 am

  • All Saints Episcopal Church of Brooklyn

All Saint’s congregation was established in 1858.The cornerstone for the building laid on Christmas Eve, December 24, 1860, and construction completed in 1862. The building was formally opened on April 4, 1862, although the roof was not finished and the windows not installed. During one service a donkey stuck its head through one of the window openings, bringing laughter to the congregation. The construction of the All Saint’s building was inspired by English and Irish country churches, with the unique church “porch” on the side. The church celebrated 150 years in 2012 and is a highlight of the Greater Irish Hills Historic Churches Driving Tour.

» Less Information

Armory Arts Village & Michigan’s First State Prison

(517) 784-2220
| Facebook
100 Armory Court
Jackson, MI 49201

Armory Arts Village & Michigan’s First State Prison The Armory Arts Village is a one-of-a-kind, creatively focused, mixed use neighborhood.  An affordable space designed to meet both the living & workspace needs of emerging artists, musicians, designers,... » More Information

Hours

Office Hours:
Monday - Friday from 9:00 am to 3:00 pm. Saturdays and additional times by appointment only.

Artst Hours:
2nd Sundays 12:00 pm to 4:00 pm

  • Armory Arts Village & Michigan’s First State Prison

The Armory Arts Village is a one-of-a-kind, creatively focused, mixed use neighborhood.  An affordable space designed to meet both the living & workspace needs of emerging artists, musicians, designers, craftsmen, and other creative people. Armory Arts Village is listed on MSN in the top ten most unique buildings worldwide in which to live. The building is a private residence, an artist community and a nationally recognized historic site. 

This was the original site of Michigan's First State Prison, approved by the legislature in 1838. A temporary wooden prison, enclosed by a fence of tamarack poles, was built on sixty acres donated for that purpose here. In 1839 the first 35 prisoners were received. A permanent prison was built three years later.

Beginning in the 1880's under Warden H. F. Hatch a greater emphasis was placed on the education and rehabilitation of prisoners. After 1934 the inmates were housed in the new prison north of Jackson. During the Industrial Revolution, Michigan's First State Prison was important to the development of Jackson by providing cheap labor in our factories. At its height, the enclosed area of the old prison was about 20 acres and there were over 2,000 inmates, making it the World's Largest Walled Prison in it's heyday.

Nearby restaurants include Shlenker's Sandwich Shop, Chilango's Mexican Grill and Anna's Gifts & Porch Cafe.

Click here for the Original Jackson Historic Prison Tour and facility rental inquires or call Judy Gail Krasnow at (517) 795-2112 or email.  

» Less Information

Art 634

(517) 745-3980
Website | Facebook
634 N. Mechanic St.
Jackson, MI 49202

Art 634 The spirit has no limitations, so there is no limit to the types of creativity birthed and practiced at ART 634.  Music, dance, photography, yoga, workshops, classes for all ages,... » More Information

Hours

2nd Sunday Open House
Every 2nd Sunday  
Noon – 4 pm

(Please see each boutiques listing for regular hours)

Meeting Facility Features
  • Multiple Rooms or Facilities
Event Capacity
  • 150
  • Art 634

The spirit has no limitations, so there is no limit to the types of creativity birthed and practiced at ART 634.  Music, dance, photography, yoga, workshops, classes for all ages, painting, sculpture, jewelry, pottery and theater are all celebrated within the walls of ART 634.

ART 634 was originally built in the 1850s as a wagon and carriage factory, adjacent to Michigan's First State Prison. The location afforded an abundance of workers and reasonable labor rates for the factory. Over the years, it has been used for warehousing, trucking operations, and numerous illicit and illegal activities. Today it has been reborn as an industry of creativity.

2nd Sundays at ART 634 are is a free and family-friendly community event from 12 to 4 pm. Come meet the featured artist(s) of the month, do the Make-N-Take Craft, talk with artists in their studios, listen to the live music as you stroll around and find your Creative Spirit. 

Nearby restaurants include Schlenker's Sandwich Shop, Chilango's Mexican Grill, Grand River Marketplace, Oak Tree Lounge and Anna's Gifts & Porch Cafe.

ART 634 has three unique rooms available for rent:  

Do YOU like to teach but lack the space and artistic atmosphere? Need a unique space surrounded by art? Rent one of the rooms at ART 634 for musical performances, meetings, bridal showers, small intimate parties or your very own art show! Venue 634 is perfect for your wedding, graduation party or your next fundraising event.

  • Venue 634: Offering a unique atmosphere for exhibits and small weddings. Capacity: 150
    Text or call Dave Youngdahl at 517-499-9585.
  • Gallery 634: A beautiful gallery for meetings, workshops or small private parties. $25 per hour/3hrs. minimum ($25/additional hrs.) Capacity: 50
    Text or call Dave Youngdahl at 517-499-9585.
  • The Classroom at $15 per hour/3hrs. minimum. ($15/additional hrs.) Capacity: 20 
    Text or call Dave Youngdahl at 517-499-9585.
  • Are you an artist? Send samples to CarrieJoers@ART634.com
     

ART 634 Tenants

» Less Information

Aware Shelter

(517) 783-2861
Website | Facebook
706 W. Michigan Ave.
Jackson, MI 49201

Aware Shelter Built for Bradley Demanter, president of People’s National Bank, the Demanter Home is now used by the AWARE Shelter, providing shelter and counseling services to survivors of domestic... » More Information

  • Aware Shelter

Built for Bradley Demanter, president of People’s National Bank, the Demanter Home is now used by the AWARE Shelter, providing shelter and counseling services to survivors of domestic and sexual violence. The mission of AWARE strives to eliminate domestic and sexual violence, while promoting social change and empowering survivors by offering shelter and services. Note the second Flemish roof on the side.

» Less Information

Bella Notte Ristorante

(517) 782-5727
Website | Facebook
137 W. Michigan Ave.
Jackson, MI 49201

Bella Notte Ristorante Locally owned and operated by Greg & Annette Walker, they offer you a warm atmosphere, delicious Italian cuisine, and daily specials. All entrees are freshly made to order with the... » More Information

Hours

Monday - Saturday  : 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM

Closed Sunday

Live Music -  Friday and Saturday

Meeting Facility Features
  • On-site Catering Available
  • AV Equipment Available
  • Air Conditioned
  • Alcohol Permitted
  • Bartending Services Available On-Site
  • WiFi Available
  • Multiple Rooms or Facilities
Event Capacity
  • 450
  • Bella Notte Ristorante

Locally owned and operated by Greg & Annette Walker, they offer you a warm atmosphere, delicious Italian cuisine, and daily specials. All entrees are freshly made to order with the finest ingredients available. Menus change seasonally utilizing the best of seasonal ingredients. The extensive wine list will please the most discriminating palate. The facility features an impressive two-story interior, popular horseshoe-shaped bar, private dining, intimate meeting rooms and banquet facilities for up to 250 guests. Live entertainment is available every Thursday, Friday, and Saturday.

This Commercial Italianate building in downtown Jackson once housed the Oppenheim's clothing store, originally an outlet for furniture built by inmates at the Jackson Prison. In the 1950's Oppenheim's was rebuilt in the Moderne style popular at the time. Sav-a-lot drug store operated here for many years before becoming Bella Notte Ristorante.

Large groups are welcome! Enough space for Bus parking and turn around.

Moonlight Room-The Staff and Management at Bella Notte Ristorante pride themselves in providing professional service and an elegant atmosphere for all events. By bringing your function to Bella Notte Ristorante’s new Moonlight Room, be it a wedding, shower, anniversary party, prom, conference or meeting, you can be confident that your guests will receive top of the line service, food, and accommodations.

Photo Credit: The Moonlight Room at Bella Notte. Taken by J.D.Jamieson.

» Less Information

Blake Building

(517) 789-6222
Website
180W. Michigan Ave.
Jackson, MI 49201

Blake Building On Sunday, August 15, 1926, the Jackson Citizen Patriot announced the opening of the Reynolds Building, Jackson's tallest business structure. It's 14 stories overlook all other business blocks in Jackson's... » More Information

  • Blake Building

On Sunday, August 15, 1926, the Jackson Citizen Patriot announced the opening of the Reynolds Building, Jackson's tallest business structure. It's 14 stories overlook all other business blocks in Jackson's mercantile district, the dominating structure being the realization of an idea conceived by Wiley R. Reynolds, president of the W.R. Reynolds and Company, one of the city's leading real estate and insurance concerns.

On February 15, 1926, the actual construction work was started.  Albert Kahn, Inc. of Detroit were the architects.  Mr. Kahn has designed many famous Detroit buildings, including the GM Building, First National Bank Building, The David Whitney Building, and the Detroit Athletic Club, as well as Jackson buildings the Jackson County Tower Building, formerly Union and People's National Bank and the Old Consumers Power Building.

This structure occupies a ground space of 30 feet by 112 feet.  It rises into the air 14 stories, equivalent to 198 feet, 2 inches.  The building is of steel and reinforced concrete construction, thoroughly fire proof, complete with all the latest features of building construction and service of the time.

A Frame Above occupies the ground floor. 

» Less Information

Blanchard Financial formerly the Knights of Columbus Building

408 W. Wildwood Ave
Jackson, MI 49201

Blanchard Financial formerly the Knights of Columbus Building Formerly the Knights of Columbus building, this Beaux Arts Mediterranean building features many of architect Claire Allen’s favored details- tile roof, Italianate brackets and dentils, grand pillared entry,... » More Information

  • Blanchard Financial formerly the Knights of Columbus Building

Formerly the Knights of Columbus building, this Beaux Arts Mediterranean building features many of architect Claire Allen’s favored details- tile roof, Italianate brackets and dentils, grand pillared entry, and balustrade porch.

» Less Information

Brick Walker Tavern

(517) 358-3201
Website | Facebook
11705 US Hwy 12
Brooklyn, MI 49230

Brick Walker Tavern Nestled in the heart of the Irish Hills, this historic 3-story 163-year old stagecoach stop, popular dance hall and gathering place has been totally renovated into a unique and authentic... » More Information

Meeting Facility Features
  • Air Conditioned
  • Alcohol Permitted
  • WiFi Available
  • Multiple Rooms or Facilities
Event Capacity
  • 150
  • Brick Walker Tavern
  • Brick Walker Tavern
  • Brick Walker Tavern
  • Brick Walker Tavern

Nestled in the heart of the Irish Hills, this historic 3-story 163-year old stagecoach stop, popular dance hall and gathering place has been totally renovated into a unique and authentic site for memorable WEEKEND WEDDINGS and SPECIAL EVENTS.  Spanning the entire 3rd floor is the Grand Ballroom with beautiful chandeliers, rustic décor and vintage atmosphere will certainly make you feel as though you are back in time.   We offer a large warming kitchen for catering needs.  Relax on the private patio, fireside chat area or pavilion, enjoy the ever changing flower gardens, and offers plenty of amenities for a lifelong memorable stay.

Our RUSTIC BARN is a beautiful 2-story post and pillar barn features a grand staircase, classy and rustic mix of chandeliers, outdoor ceremony or group photo area.  Add to your special photos with our original 1800's wagon and Ford flatbed truck.

For more information Email the Brick Walker Tavern or call (517) 358-3201 

Capacity

Grand Ballroom - 100

Rustic Barn - 150

» Less Information

Brooklyn Presbyterian Church

(517) 592-2801
Website | Facebook
160 N. Main St.
Brooklyn, MI 49230

Brooklyn Presbyterian Church Listed in the Michigan Historical registry, The Booklyn Presbyterian Church in Brooklyn was originally 40 x 60 feet in size, the church was a simple Greek Revival building with a square belfry.... » More Information

Hours

Sunday Services 8:30 and 10:30 AM

  • Brooklyn Presbyterian Church

Listed in the Michigan Historical registry, The Booklyn Presbyterian Church in Brooklyn was originally 40 x 60 feet in size, the church was a simple Greek Revival building with a square belfry. In 1901 a gabled entranceway was added and the church raised up on high stone foundation. The church building is the second oldest in Jackson County and a highlight of the Greater Irish Hills Historic Churches Driving Tour. Inside the church's Archives Alcove is a mini-museum in which the memories and artifacts of 170 years of service have been stored and displayed. 

» Less Information

Calvary United Methodist Church

(517) 782-0543
Website | Facebook
925 Backus
Jackson, MI 49202

Calvary United Methodist Church Calvary United Methodist Church is a welcoming and friendly church whose mission is: “We are called to grow in faith, to be a sign of God’s Kingdom.... » More Information

Hours

Sunday Services

Sunday School 9:30 AM

Worship 11:00 AM

Meeting Facility Features
  • AV Equipment Available
  • Air Conditioned
  • Multiple Rooms or Facilities
Event Capacity
  • 300
  • Calvary United Methodist Church

Calvary United Methodist Church is a welcoming and friendly church whose mission is: “We are called to grow in faith, to be a sign of God’s Kingdom.” Located at 925 Backus Street in Jackson, Michigan, Calvary works to accomplish its mission through classes and small groups designed to promote spiritual growth offered to the congregation as well as proactive outreach and partnership in its community. We are strong in mission giving, hands-on partnership with the local elementary school and serve meals to the local homeless shelter.

» Less Information

Cascades Manor House

(517) 784-1500
Website | Facebook
1970 Kibby Rd.
Jackson, MI 49203

Cascades Manor House Winner of 2014 Jackson Magazine Reader's Choice for Best Banquet Facility Cascades Manor House specializes in Baby Showers, Wedding Showers, Corporate Meetings, On-site Weddings, Wedding Receptions, Service Clubs, Memorials and... » More Information

Meeting Facility Features
  • On-site Catering Available
  • AV Equipment Available
  • Air Conditioned
  • Alcohol Permitted
  • WiFi Available
  • Multiple Rooms or Facilities
Event Capacity
  • 275
  • Cascades Manor House

Winner of 2014 Jackson Magazine Reader's Choice for Best Banquet Facility

Cascades Manor House specializes in Baby Showers, Wedding Showers, Corporate Meetings, On-site Weddings, Wedding Receptions, Service Clubs, Memorials and Special Events. Nestled in beautiful Sparks Park and The Cascades (aka Cascades Falls Park) of Jackson, Michigan, you'll find the elegant Cascades Manor House.  The perfect setting for your next occasion, the Cascades Manor House will impress your guests with stunning surroundings, impeccable service, and delicious cuisine.

They cordially invite you to relax and enjoy the charming atmosphere of the Cascades Manor House while their experienced, professional staff plan and coordinate your special event. The scenic grounds and unique bridges create the perfect setting for any occasion. Your guests will enjoy a large dance floor and ample parking.  The Cascades Manor House has a long-term agreement with Jackson County Parks.  We are a nonprofit facility and our proceeds are directed to local parks improvement. We three private rooms to choose from and seating for up to 300.   We offer a full bar and equipment rentals to complete your event. 

Corporate events, showers, wedding receptions, memorial luncheons, retirement parties, your event will shine at Jackson's Original "Community Gathering Place." Call today to schedule your next event!

» Less Information

Casler’s Hardware Store (Old Stone Post Office)

(517) 789-8153
Website | Facebook
125 N Jackson St.
Jackson, MI 49201

Casler’s Hardware Store (Old Stone Post Office) Casler's Hardware occupies four discreet buildings. The oldest, a simple, two-story, Greek Revival building at the rear, is Jackson's oldest stone building. Listed on the National Register... » More Information

Hours

7 am -- 5 pm Monday through Friday
8 am -- 12 Noon Saturday
Closed Sunday

  • Casler’s Hardware Store (Old Stone Post Office)

Casler's Hardware occupies four discreet buildings. The oldest, a simple, two-story, Greek Revival building at the rear, is Jackson's oldest stone building. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, it was built in 1839 as the Post Office, General Store and Newspaper. It then faced onto the original town square, now Bucky Harris Park, where the stagecoach would stop regularly. 

The Stone Post Office built with locally quarried sandstone, is also one of the oldest commercial structures in all of Michigan. Built for local merchant Joseph G.R. Blackwell, it was once a center of local life and one of the first permanent buildings in the town then called Jacksonburgh.  

Casler Hardware Inc. has been in business since 1939, offering hardware supplies for commercial companies, as well as large or small household repairs and projects.

» Less Information

Celebrations Wedding Chapel & Event Center

(517) 879-0370
Website | Facebook
101 Main St.
Horton, MI 49246

Celebrations Wedding Chapel & Event Center Celebrate your wedding or special occasion in the romantic Wedding Chapel in our historic Victorian church just outside Jackson, MI. (Formerly Billingsgate restaurant)  Event Center for intimate gatherings accommodating... » More Information

Contact
Christine Tanier, Manager
Meeting Facility Features
  • Air Conditioned
  • Alcohol Permitted
  • WiFi Available
  • Multiple Rooms or Facilities
Event Capacity
  • 50
  • Celebrations Wedding Chapel & Event Center

Celebrate your wedding or special occasion in the romantic Wedding Chapel in our historic Victorian church just outside Jackson, MI. (Formerly Billingsgate restaurant)  Event Center for intimate gatherings accommodating up to 50 guests. Kitchen facilities available for catered food or pot luck and alcohol is allowed.  Officiant on-site who will work with you to create the perfect ceremony.  Weddings, receptions, showers, birthdays, anniversaries, reunions, seminars, Holiday parties.  Come make your memories with us!

» Less Information

Cell Block 7 Prison Museum

(517) 787-2320
Website | Facebook
3855 Cooper St.
Jackson, MI 49201

Cell Block 7 Prison Museum Visit the museum dedicated to the history and process of the Michigan Department of Corrections at this unique site located within an active working prison system.  Cell Block 7 is... » More Information

Hours

Wed-Sun: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Monday - Tuesday:
Open to Groups By Appointment Call For Details

  • Cell Block 7 Prison Museum

Visit the museum dedicated to the history and process of the Michigan Department of Corrections at this unique site located within an active working prison system.  Cell Block 7 is an active representation of current life as an incarcerated inmate at what was once the largest walled-prison in the world.  Located adjacent to working cell-blocks on the grounds of the active Southern Regional Prison, Cell Block 7 is designed to give attendees both the history and current state of corrections in Michigan. Prisoners were housed in this building until 2007. 

The museum is independently operated by the Ella Sharp Museum, accredited by the American Alliance of Museums. The Ella Sharp Museum leases the space from the Michigan Department of Corrections. All museum admission proceeds go directly to the Ella Sharp Museum. Admission can be combined with a ticket to the Ella Sharp Museum, also located in Jackson.

(Children 12 and under are allowed to enter the museum but may not leave the ground floor due to safety precautions.)

» Less Information

City of Jackson - City Hall

(517) 788-4035
Website | Facebook
161 W. Michigan Ave.
Jackson, MI 49201

City of Jackson - City Hall Located at the intersections of I-94 and US-127, Jackson, Michigan is a hard-working, vibrant city with the charm and warmth of a quaint town. From the historic Downtown to the... » More Information

Hours

8:00 AM-5:00 PM Monday thru Friday

  • City of Jackson - City Hall

Located at the intersections of I-94 and US-127, Jackson, Michigan is a hard-working, vibrant city with the charm and warmth of a quaint town. From the historic Downtown to the beautiful acres of open parkland that stretch across the city limits, Jackson earns its recognition as one of Michigan’s “Cool Cities”, giving these opportunities to its visitors, and offering even more to its residents.

Jackson is also a great place for businesses to call home. It offers a number of incentives to help businesses succeed, and a workforce of highly skilled and productive individuals to assure that success is met.

So whether you’ve come to know it as the Rose City, home of The Cascades or the Birthplace of the Republican Party, Jackson continues to evolve and develop, making a new name for itself every day.

» Less Information

Coe House Museum & Grass Lake Area Historical Connections

(517) 522-8324
Website | Facebook
371 W. Michigan Ave.
Grass Lake, MI 49240

Coe House Museum & Grass Lake Area Historical Connections Coe House was constructed in 1871 for Henry Van Winkle, who owned and operated a hardware store and farm equipment "dealership" in Grass Lake. In 1953 Archie and Myrta Coe bought the... » More Information

Hours

First and Third Saturday
June through October
Or by appointment

  • Coe House Museum & Grass Lake Area Historical Connections

Coe House was constructed in 1871 for Henry Van Winkle, who owned and operated a hardware store and farm equipment "dealership" in Grass Lake. In 1953 Archie and Myrta Coe bought the home, and it was from Mrs. Coe, by then a widow, that the Grass Lake Area Historical Society bought the house in 1972. The architecture of the home is Tuscan Vernacular. It has been furnished to represent a typical home of the Victorian Era. Events are scheduled throughout the year, including flea markets, craft shows, music and a heritage celebration.

» Less Information

Commercial Exchange Building

(517) 782-9305
Website | Facebook
2301 E. Michigan Ave.
Jackson, MI 49202

Commercial Exchange Building Added to the National Historic Places Registry in 1993, the Commercial Exchange Building/ Collins Manufacturing/ Jackson Automobile Company Complex consists of two segments (Buildings A and B) arranged into a roughly... » More Information

Hours

Mon-Fri: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

  • Commercial Exchange Building

Added to the National Historic Places Registry in 1993, the Commercial Exchange Building/ Collins Manufacturing/ Jackson Automobile Company Complex consists of two segments (Buildings A and B) arranged into a roughly square-shaped complex connected to a third rectangular segment (Building C) by a one-story powerhouse and loading dock structure erected at the same time as Building A in 1895. A fourth, smaller, rectangular building (Building D) is situated adjacent and parallel to Building C. Building A, the original structure on the site is a three-story, U-shaped, red brick building featuring a six-story corner tower containing the main entrance. The building contains the original main offices, several of which were remodeled in the 1930s and display both Colonial/Georgian and Art Deco motifs, fireplaces, molded wood paneling, and period wall sconces. 

The Collins Manufacturing Co. built the structure at 2301 E. Michigan Ave. and was a major producer of horse carts in the late 1890s. The building has since housed many early, innovative automobile companies, a World War I munitions factory, a Cardon Manufacturing plant. It was acquired by William Sparks in 1928 for the Sparks-Withington Co. The building is now owned by and known as the Commercial Exchange Building. 

Photo Courtesy of the Jackson District Library Archives. 

» Less Information

Conklin Reed Organ & History Museum

(517) 563-8927
Website | Facebook
101 Fairview St.
Hanover, MI 49241

Conklin Reed Organ & History Museum The Lee Conklin Antique Reed Organ & History Museum proudly displays over 100 fully restored and working antique reed organs. Visitors to the museum are often treated to the beautiful sounds... » More Information

Hours

May - October: Sunday 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
By appointment the rest of the week. 

Meeting Facility Features
  • Air Conditioned
  • Multiple Rooms or Facilities
Event Capacity
  • 44
  • Conklin Reed Organ & History Museum
  • Conklin Reed Organ & History Museum
  • Conklin Reed Organ & History Museum
  • Conklin Reed Organ & History Museum

The Lee Conklin Antique Reed Organ & History Museum proudly displays over 100 fully restored and working antique reed organs. Visitors to the museum are often treated to the beautiful sounds of these antique instruments, as they are in playable condition. The collection includes parlor, cottage and church organs along with elegant rosewood melodeons, some dating as far back as the mid-1800’s.

The historical collection includes a turn of the century classroom, barber shop, library, printing press and telephone switchboard. The museum building itself, once Hanover High School, was designated a Michigan Historical Site in 2000 and added to the National Register of Historic Places in 2013. The museum is owned and operated by the Hanover-Horton Area Historical Society. Special events include Rust N' Dust Days, Fourth of July Tractor Pulls, Bluegrass Bonanza, and October Corn Mazes. 

The Heritage Park Event Center is a great place to hold your next gathering. Whether you are expecting a small crowd or a full house the event center can accommodate your needs. There are two rooms available.

The small meeting room features a classroom style space that holds 44 people maximum and includes the use of the kitchen. The large meeting space is also available for rent and also includes the use of the kitchen. If you are interested in renting either room, please contact the Hanover-Horton Area Historical Society office at 517-563-8927.  There is NO Alcohol / NO Smoking policy for all of the Museum Buildings and Grounds.

MOTOR COACH & GROUP INFORMATION

Group tours are welcome.  The buildings and restrooms are handicapped accessible except for the 2nd floor of the museum. Please allow 1.5 hours for the tour. Please visit their website for more information on group tours.

» Less Information

Consumers Energy (Old Post Office)

(800) 477-5050
Website | Facebook
One Energy Plaza
Jackson, MI 49201

Consumers Energy (Old Post Office) Now part of the Consumers Energy campus, the former post office was designed by Jackson architect Claire Allen at the height of his powers. Built in 1932, this beautifully designed and... » More Information

  • Consumers Energy (Old Post Office)

Now part of the Consumers Energy campus, the former post office was designed by Jackson architect Claire Allen at the height of his powers. Built in 1932, this beautifully designed and sumptuously detailed United States Post Office was built with the finest materials - limestone, marble, terra cotta, and metal - crafted by experts employed by the WPA.  

In 1998 the post office moved and the next year Consumers Energy started a project that entailed restoring this building and attaching a twelve-story office building in back.  This unusually curved beaux arts former post office was incorporated as the focal point of the new Consumers Energy campus.The original post office lobby is now the entrance, the wood-paneled post master’s office is the welcoming center, while the mail sorting area has been converted into an extremely handsome employee lounge and lunchroom with a grand staircase. Note how the parking structures on either side are carefully designed to go with the main building.

» Less Information

Dale Fisher Galleries and Eyry of the Eagle Reception Center

517-937-3883
Website | Facebook
1916 Norvell Rd.
Grass Lake, MI 49240

Dale Fisher Galleries and Eyry of the Eagle Reception Center Eyry of the Eagle Farm Wedding Reception and Retreat Center & Dale Fisher Galleries of Fine Photography From Rehearsal Dinner to Reception, The Eyry of the Eagle Farm is a... » More Information

Contact
Kim
Hours

The center is open during normal businesses hours (M-F 9-5) and on weekends by appointment. It always best to call ahead.

Meeting Facility Features
  • On-site Catering Available
  • Air Conditioned
  • Multiple Rooms or Facilities
Event Capacity
  • 250
  • Dale Fisher Galleries and Eyry of the Eagle Reception Center

Eyry of the Eagle Farm Wedding Reception and Retreat Center & Dale Fisher Galleries of Fine Photography

From Rehearsal Dinner to Reception, The Eyry of the Eagle Farm is a special place for special occasions. This beautiful backdrop is the perfect location for wedding receptions and business events. The Eyry of the Eagle Farm features a modern reception hall, a charming 125-year old restored barn, wedding pergola, pond, windmill, wooded area, flower gardens and unique farm animals. For more information contact Kim at kim@EyryoftheEagle.com.

Located in Grass Lake, Michigan just west of Ann Arbor,
The Eyry of the Eagle Farm’s facilities are perfect for:

• Weddings
• Bridal & Baby Showers
• Graduation & Anniversary Parties
• Corporate Events & Meetings
• Company & Family Picnics
• Class Reunions

 

Eyry Hall

The Eyry of the Eagle Farm features


• Wings Gallery Reception Hall – 5,000+ square feet with 40'x64' meeting/dining room-240 guest capacity
• Eagle's Nest Gallery-125-year-old barn-90 Guest capacity
• Wedding Ceremony Pergola with brick walkway
• Pergola
• 3-Acre pond with Windmill
• Flower Gardens
• Wooded areas
• Ball Field
• Unique Farm Animals
• Beautiful “Photo Opportunity” backdrops
• Galleries decorated with the photographic art of Dale Fisher

Eyry Trellis

Wings Gallery Reception Hall
Fine Art Photography by Dale Fisher, special lighting, warm wall colors and tasteful window treatments re-enforce the feeling of being in a fine art gallery and create a natural backdrop for photographs.
• 5000 square feet with 40'x64' meeting/dining room,
• 240-Guest capacity
• Air-Conditioning
• Catering Kitchen
• Entry / Reception Room
• Bridal Suite

Smith Reed Wedding Hall

Eagles Nest Barn
This beautiful 125-year old restored barn is perfect for smaller gatherings or cocktails prior to a larger event. This cozy, rustic, fine art gallery and meeting reception area create an excellent atmosphere for parties, corporate events, rehearsal dinners and is available for the groomsmen to prepare for the wedding.
• 90-Guest capacity
• Catering kitchen
• Air-conditioned

 

Dale Fisher Galleries
All of the walls within the buildings of The Eyry of the Eagle Farm feature the fine art photography of Dale Fisher. During his 50+ year career and known for his “Eagle Eye” perspective, Working almost exclusively from a low-altitude helicopter,  Dale has been perfecting his art of creating images from a rarely seen perspective. His Galleries are filled with collections of art from the states of Michigan, Hawaii, Arizona, New York and many other areas; as well as, wildlife, nautical, landscape images for all four seasons.

Dale’s low-altitude, distinctive and personal, commercial photography transforms freeways, construction sites, farms and homes into works of fine art. These images have many business benefits, which include:
• Project Documentation
• Public Relations and Marketing Material
• Presentation images
• Website and social media photos
• Wall Hangings
• Client Gifts
• And Much more

The Eyry of the Eagle Farm is also home to the Michigan Center for the Photographic Arts, a non-profit 501(3)(c) organization that's main focus is to unleash the creative spirit in children through the art of photography.

A small sampling of Dale's art and information about upcoming events may be viewed at www.DaleFishePhoto.com. Call 517-522-3705 to schedule a tour of Dale Fisher’s Fine Art Galleries.
 

» Less Information

Ella Sharp Museum

(517) 787-2320 
Website | Facebook
3225 Fourth St.
Jackson, MI 49203

Ella Sharp Museum In 1912, Ella Sharp’s farm and home were willed to Jackson for the creation of Ella Sharp Park and museum, which opened in 1965. The Ella Sharp Museum features an 1860... » More Information

Hours

Tues, Wed, Fri & Sat. - 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Thurs - 10:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Sun and Mon - CLOSED

Public guided tours of Ella Sharp's 19th Century Hillside Farmhouse are at 11 a.m & 2:00 p.m.

For group tour information please click here.

Meeting Facility Features
  • On-site Catering Available
  • AV Equipment Available
  • Air Conditioned
  • Bartending Services Available On-Site
  • WiFi Available
  • Multiple Rooms or Facilities
Event Capacity
  • 300
  • Ella Sharp Museum

In 1912, Ella Sharp’s farm and home were willed to Jackson for the creation of Ella Sharp Park and museum, which opened in 1965. The Ella Sharp Museum features an 1860’s log cabin, the Dibble one-room schoolhouse, country store, print shop, doctor’s office, wood shop and the Merriman Sharp Farmhouse. 

The Ella Sharp Museum also houses six galleries including the Andrews Gallery of Wildlife Art, the Jackson History Gallery, the Never Enough Time Clock Gallery and three galleries featuring traveling and in house exhibitions.

Thousands of visitors are drawn each year to Hillside Farm Lane for the Ella’s major festivals including Sugaring & Shearing (March), Fall Harvest Festival (October) and Art, Beer & Wine Festival (June) which includes art vendors, Michigan wine and craft beer tastings. 

The Grand Community Room at the Ella Sharp Museum is the perfect place for your next grand event. The 3,000-square-foot room features an outdoor patio, catering kitchen, and stage to accommodate a wide variety of uses. A huge, arched window looks out onto the surrounding park and a mid-19th century log house. Consider Ella Sharp Museum for reunions, holiday parties, weddings, seminars, annual meetings and much more.

Photo Credit Wedding at Ella Sharp Museum by Trisha Hyde Photography

MOTOR COACH & GROUP INFORMATION

The Ella offers special programming options for groups of 15 or more. To schedule a group tour, please contact tour coordinator Emily Jarvi. Group tours must be scheduled two weeks in advance.

For your group’s visit, choose from three tour options, all lasting approximately three hours or create your own experience:

Option 1: Guided tour of Ella’s home, the Merriman-Sharp farmhouse; visit to the galleries; tour of the grounds featuring sculpture and historical buildings; free time

Option 2: Guided visit to the galleries; presentation on selected topic*; tour of the grounds featuring sculpture and historical buildings; free time

Option 3: Guided visit to the galleries; creative project; choose between tour of the grounds featuring sculpture and historical buildings or house tour; free time

*Choose from eight topics of interest in art and history relating to the museum’s collection. 

» Less Information

Falling Waters Park

(517) 750-2800
Website
Corner of Hammond Road and South Cross Road
Spring Arbor, MI 49283

Falling Waters Park Falling Waters Park is a historical Spring Arbor Township Park that was dedicated September 25, 1994, near the corner of Hammond and South Cross Road, about a mile south of M-60 and... » More Information

Park Features
  • Flower Garden
  • Benches
  • Picnic Tables
  • Falling Waters Park

Falling Waters Park is a historical Spring Arbor Township Park that was dedicated September 25, 1994, near the corner of Hammond and South Cross Road, about a mile south of M-60 and just north of the Falling Waters Trail, the 10.6-mile trail connecting Concord with Jackson. A State of Michigan historical marker was unveiled on that day to commemorate four important historical sites and/or events which took place in the vicinity of the park.

  • A Potawatomi Village and the burial ground of four Native American Chiefs
  • The establishment in 1835 of the original village of Spring Arbor, which was later moved north to M-60
  • The founding in 1834 of the school that would eventually became Albion College
  • The founding in 1844 of the school which was the predessor of both Hillsdale College and Spring Arbor University

» Less Information

First Baptist Church

(517) 784-3151
Website | Facebook
201 S. Jackson St.
Jackson, MI 49201

First Baptist Church This was the first Baptist church established in Jackson. In 1834, thirteen Jackson pioneers established the Barry-Jackson Baptist Church in Sandstone Township. Five years later the Reverend David Hendee and seventeen... » More Information

Contact
April Barrett, Pastor
Hours

Office Open:
Mon - Fri: 8:30 am - 12:30 pm

SUNDAY INFORMATION:
Worship Service - 9:45 am
Coffee and Donuts - 11:00 am
Sunday School & Adult Bible Study - 11:30 am-12:30 pm

  • First Baptist Church

This was the first Baptist church established in Jackson. In 1834, thirteen Jackson pioneers established the Barry-Jackson Baptist Church in Sandstone Township. Five years later the Reverend David Hendee and seventeen members of that church formed the First Baptist Church in Jackson. Meetings were held in several locations until 1868, when construction began on the present church. J. R. Lewis provided the plans and specifications for this Romanesque Revival-style structure. When a lack of funds resulted in repeated construction delays, "Uncle Ben" Mosher, a member of the building committee, agreed to erect the walls free if the materials were supplied. A donation from four church members in 1871 assured the structure's completion. The church was eventually dedicated on March 10, 1872.

Founded in 1839, First Baptist Church has been a vital presence of God’s hope and grace in downtown Jackson for more than 170 years. From the corner of South Jackson and Cortland Streets, the congregation continues to live this legacy through mission and outreach to the community. With about 190 members First Baptist is a place to be known by God and friends. In 2014, the church celebrated its 175th anniversary. 

Photos coutesy of First Baptist Church of Jackson.

» Less Information

First Congregational Church

(517) 784-8577
Website | Facebook
120 N. Jackson St.
Jackson, MI 49201

First Congregational Church This pre-Civil War building has a fascinating history that includes a well-documented story about adding a basement AFTER the structure had been in operation for several years. This monumental Romanesque... » More Information

Contact
Rev. Larry Hoxey
Hours

Office Open: 9 am - 2 pm weekdays

Sunday Services: 
8:30 am Faith Connections (Early Service)
10:00 am Sunday Service (Sanctuary)
10:00 am Sunday School

  • First Congregational Church

This pre-Civil War building has a fascinating history that includes a well-documented story about adding a basement AFTER the structure had been in operation for several years.

This monumental Romanesque Revival church was erected in 1859 according to plans by architect Horatio N. White of Syracuse, New York. It is this congregation's third church. In 1871, the building was raised eight feet to accommodate lower-level classrooms.

In September 1861, on the eve of departing for duty in the Civil War, the "Jackson Blair Cadets" and the Jackson County Rifles gathered with their families in the crowded sanctuary. At Detroit's Fort Wayne, the troops joined the Eighth and Ninth Michigan infantries respectively. Beginning in the 1840s with the anti-slavery movement, the congregation actively participated in social reform--most notably the temperance and civil rights crusades. In 1987, the church was placed on the State Register of Historic Sites.

Photo Courtesy of Jackson District Library Archives.

» Less Information

First Presbyterian Church

517-784-9175
Website | Facebook
743 W. Michigan Avenue
Jackson, MI 49201

First Presbyterian Church At Jackson's First Presbyterian Church "Serving God and Serving Others" is what we are called to do as a church. This little phrase is on our coffee cups, baseball... » More Information

Contact
Jennifer Williams
Hours

Sunday hours:

Adult Sunday School - 9am

Sunday worship - 10am

Weekday office hours:

Monday - Friday from 9am-4pm

Meeting Facility Features
  • Air Conditioned
  • WiFi Available
  • Multiple Rooms or Facilities
Event Capacity
  • 100
  • First Presbyterian Church

At Jackson's First Presbyterian Church "Serving God and Serving Others" is what we are called to do as a church. This little phrase is on our coffee cups, baseball caps, T-shirts, and stationery. What it actually means is that our mission is following the teachings of Jesus Christ to love and care for those he loves. We believe that he loves people of all races, religions, sexual orientation, and those who have faith and those who do not.

    In the words of a famous prayer, he "loves the poor and the helpless, thecold, the hungry and the oppressed; the sick in body and in mind and them that mourn; the lonely and the unloved; the aged and the little children; all who know not the Lord Jesus, or who love him not, or who by sin have grieved his heart of love."

      This is the "Gospel" or "good news" that we feel called out to do. Our understanding of the Gospel is that we are called by Jesus to live out these teachings in today's world. The ministries of our congregation reflect this.

Various rooms available for groups from 5 people to 100 people.

» Less Information

First United Methodist Church

517-787-6460
Website | Facebook
275 W. Michigan Ave.
Jackson, MI 49201

First United Methodist Church The origins of the First United Methodist Church can be traced to 1831 when preacher Elijah Pilcher arrived in "Jacksonburgh" to serve the town's growing Methodist community. Services were held... » More Information

Hours

Office Hours: 9:00am - 4:00pm Monday through Friday

Worship Times: Sunday mornings 9:00am & 11:00am

Meeting Facility Features
  • Air Conditioned
  • Multiple Rooms or Facilities
Event Capacity
  • 700
  • First United Methodist Church

The origins of the First United Methodist Church can be traced to 1831 when preacher Elijah Pilcher arrived in "Jacksonburgh" to serve the town's growing Methodist community. Services were held around town until a small church was erected in 1850. The congregation built a larger church at the present site in 1868. In 1922, Detroit architect W.E.N. Hunter designed the current Neo-Gothic structure around the 1868 church. A larger pipe organ and the Virginia and Katherine Hayes memorial window were installed at that time, donated by businessman C.B. Hayes. Prominent members also included W.A. Foote, co-founder of Consumers Power Company. The church was enlarged yet again in 1954.

First UMC Jackson is the premier location for a Christian wedding in Jackson. The sanctuary, which seats up to 700, is available for large or small ceremonies. This is also the home of southern Michigan's finest organ, the Martin Ott Pipe Organ - Opus 97. The church has skilled organists who will work with you to provide the music that will enhance your special day. For more intimate weddings, there is a Chapel which seats 50 - 75. Whatever your vision, our wedding coordinator can help you make that dream come true.

The church also has excellent facilities available for non-alcoholic receptions with seating up to 200. To see the sanctuary and hear the organ, please feel free to come for a Sunday morning service at 9:00 or 11:00 am. For more information or to tour the church, contact us weekdays from 9:00 am until 4:00 pm. Reserve your date today! Your promise to each other is important to First UMC Jackson!

» Less Information

Hankerd Inn & Resort

(517) 769-6153
Website
10350 Hankerd Rd.
Pleasant Lake, MI 49272

Hankerd Inn & Resort Located in the scenic Pleasant Lake area. This resort offers 16 lovely bedrooms in three buildings adjacent to a 27-hole golf course, Hankerd Hills Golf Course. Features full breakfast, central... » More Information

Features
  • Complimentary Breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Pets Allowed
  • Meeting Rooms
Meeting Facility Features
  • On-site Catering Available
  • Air Conditioned
  • WiFi Available
Event Capacity
  • 50
  • Hankerd Inn & Resort
  • Hankerd Inn & Resort

Located in the scenic Pleasant Lake area. This resort offers 16 lovely bedrooms in three buildings adjacent to a 27-hole golf course, Hankerd Hills Golf Course. Features full breakfast, central air and a large room for meetings and receptions. Soaking tub and fireplace suites available.

The Hankerd Inn is great for individual stays or retreats with more than 18,000 square feet including areas for quilting, scrapbooking and family reunions. The beautiful show kitchen is available for cooking demonstrations while the art studio and retail shop are perfect for groups both staying the night or just passing through. By special arrangement, please encourage your group to use their imagination during a make & take craft activity.

Dinner is available for all guests on site by special arrangement, however, restaurants nearby include Hankerd Hills Golf Course Restaurant, Big Chuck's Pizza and Pleasant Lake Pub.

» Less Information

Hayes Hotel

228 W. Michigan Ave.
Jackson, MI 49201

Hayes Hotel Named in honor of industrialist Clarence Hayes, this currently vacant building was once a top-level hotel with a fancy restaurant and ballroom. Development plans are in progress. Photo Courtesy of... » More Information

  • Hayes Hotel

Named in honor of industrialist Clarence Hayes, this currently vacant building was once a top-level hotel with a fancy restaurant and ballroom. Development plans are in progress.
Photo Courtesy of Jackson District Library Archives.

» Less Information

Jackson Antique Mall

(517) 784-3333
Website
201 N. Jackson St.
Jackson, MI 49201

Jackson Antique Mall Built in late 1860's in the Commercial Italianate style prevalent during that period. It has housed boarding rooms, a bar, livery stables, a freezer unit manufacturer, storage for Jackson Cracker... » More Information

Hours

Monday – Saturday 10:00 a.m. - 5:45p.m.
Sunday 12:00 p.m – 4:45 p.m.
Closed Major Holidays

  • Jackson Antique Mall

Built in late 1860's in the Commercial Italianate style prevalent during that period. It has housed boarding rooms, a bar, livery stables, a freezer unit manufacturer, storage for Jackson Cracker Company, a commercial sign manufacturer, a hardware and appliance shop, B.F. Goodrich, and A & J Tire. In 1988, the building was purchased and developed into the current Jackson Antique Mall. It is the largest antique mall in Jackson with over 3 floors of treasures in downtown Jackson.

» Less Information

Jackson Candy & Fudge Factory, Inc

517-998-7070
Website | Facebook
1522 E Michigan Ave.
Jackson, MI 49202

Jackson Candy & Fudge Factory, Inc The Jackson Candy & Fudge Factory is an 1890's style candy and fudge shop, as well as a gift emporium. It's a true step back in time experience. When... » More Information

Hours

Mon-Sun: 11:00 am-7:00 pm

  • Jackson Candy & Fudge Factory, Inc
  • Jackson Candy & Fudge Factory, Inc

The Jackson Candy & Fudge Factory is an 1890's style candy and fudge shop, as well as a gift emporium. It's a true step back in time experience.

When you visit the Jackson Candy & Fudge Factory, you will be taking a step back in time. It’s a true 1890’s style candy shop with the decorative copper ceilings, clay brick walls, distressed wood floors, fancy mirrors and decorative lighting from the turn of the century. You will find the old Toledo scales for weighing, and even see a brass National cash register still in use. The building itself is over 100 years old.
While you will find yourself wondering where to tie up your horse, and thinking that the stagecoach will be pulling up out front shortly, you will find the selections of homemade fudge, candies, chocolates, nuts and popcorn flavors to be endless. There are unending rows of candies you had as a child, and what 1890’s confectionery wouldn’t have a large selection of salt water taffy.
There is no charge for all the fun you will have at the Jackson Candy & Fudge Factory. Upon entry you are greeted by the friendliest of staff who will offer you free samples of fudge ranging from Rocky Road to Coconut Crème Pie. All children are given a free token to the Wowie Zowie gumball machine, and if a white gumball happens to come out, a free prize is won. You can hear the kids screaming with excitement from over a block away.
While there, you’ll want to take a selfie in the wacky mirror, and don’t forget to spin the prize wheel at the checkout counter for a chance to win something for your next visit. Or, just stand there and think of the days gone by while you take in the sweet smells of home-made fudge or freshly popped caramel corn. 
Sweet lovers will adore the open kitchen where you can see the master confectioner making the fudge, roasting the nuts, and preparing the flavors of popcorn. Free samples are generous for those that are patient. Nothing beats fresh, warm cinnamon almonds. 
Often referred to by locals as the “gift emporium”, the Jackson Candy & Fudge Factory carries the perfect gifts for every occasion. Nothing says you care, or you remembered, better than a gift from an 1890’s candy shop with locally made products. Plus, who doesn’t like the gift of fine chocolates, caramel corn, toasted almonds, retro candy, salt water taffy or freshly made fudge? Choose from one of our premade gift selections, or put your own package together in our customizable gift boxes.
We promise that your visit will be a fun experience and you will take with you the best home-made fudge, candies, chocolates and popcorn flavors available. There is no charge for all the smiles you will leave with. And there is never a charge for the magnificent smells.
A visit to the Jackson Candy & Fudge Factory will be a memorable stop. In fact, we like to think of it as an “experience”. You will literally feel like you stepped back in time. Better hurry though, the stage coach leaves at 7 sharp.

» Less Information

Jackson Coffee Co. Downtown

(517) 990-6770
Website | Facebook
201 South Mechanic St.
Jackson, MI 49201

Jackson Coffee Co. Downtown Jackson's Best Coffee Shop of 2012, 2007, 2008, and 2009 Jackson Magazine Best of Jackson. They have won every year since opening. 2007 Jackson County Chamber of Commerce Brick Award 2008 Jackson County Chamber... » More Information

Hours

Mon–Thu 7am–7pm
Fri 7am–10pm with Live Entertainment from 7 to 10 p.m.
Sat 8am–7pm (downtown)
Sun Closed

Meeting Facility Features
  • On-site Catering Available
  • Air Conditioned
  • WiFi Available
Event Capacity
  • 12
  • Jackson Coffee Co. Downtown

Jackson's Best Coffee Shop of 2012, 2007, 2008, and 2009 Jackson Magazine Best of Jackson. They have won every year since opening.

2007 Jackson County Chamber of Commerce Brick Award

2008 Jackson County Chamber of Commerce Entrepreneurial Spirit Award

The Jackson Coffee Co is Jackson's only gourmet coffee roaster, they produce the freshest cup of coffee possible.  It is why they have been voted "Best Coffee" every year.  All coffee is roasted at the downtown location.  This location features a 3,500 square feet, 1871 building in the heart of Jackson's business district and is filled with old-world charm, modern amenities, and a hip, jazz-inspired upstairs. It's worth stopping by just to check out the brass ceiling.   Live music is offered free of charge from 7 PM to 10 PM every Friday night. This store carries the widest selection of regular and sugar-free flavors in 4 counties and has something for everyone, even the non-coffee drinker. Visit our website at www.jacksoncoffeeco.com to see pictures of our store, who's playing this Friday, and for directions. 

This classic commercial Italianate building was constructed in early 1870's by entrepreneur N.G. Davis. It has housed a grocery, oil company, flour and feed store, engraving company, dentist, corset company, shoe store, awning company, investment company, paint and wallpaper store, a cabinet company, Democratic party headquarters, and now beautifully renovated to become the Jackson Coffee Company.

Photo Courtesy of Ernst Design, LLC.

» Less Information

Jackson County Airport - Reynolds Field

(517) 788-4225
Website
3606 Wildwood Ave.
Jackson, MI 49202

Jackson County Airport - Reynolds Field The Jackson County Airport - Reynolds Field in Jackson, Michigan is dedicated to serving the aeronautical needs of the greater Jackson area. The 700-acre airport, equipped with an ILS system,... » More Information

Hours

The Air Traffic Control Tower operates from 7:00 a.m. until 9:00 p.m. daily.

Airport Adminstration Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.

  • Jackson County Airport - Reynolds Field

The Jackson County Airport - Reynolds Field in Jackson, Michigan is dedicated to serving the aeronautical needs of the greater Jackson area. The 700-acre airport, equipped with an ILS system, is located just south of I-94 (Airport Road exit #137) and is home to over 100 general aviation aircraft ranging from single engine planes to business/corporate jet aircraft. The Airport is home to many businesses including the Jackson College Flight School, a full-service restaurant, a car rental company and the annual Jackson Bluesfest in June.

Aviation Heritage Park

The Aviation Heritage Park display includes a Lockheed T-33A Shooting Star jet, a larger than life bronze statue of a WWII aviator and two original monuments from when the airport was given to the City of Jackson in 1928. Coming in 2013, a monument dedicated to the training of WWII pilots, as well as a replica of the plane once flown by the famed German fighter pilot the Red Baron in WWI.

Group Tour Information

Guided history tours for motor coach groups are available. Call Jackson Journeys at (517) 817-8960 for the history tour information.

» Less Information

Jackson County Courthouse

(517) 788-4245
Website | Facebook
312 S. Jackson St.
Jackson, MI 49201

Jackson County Courthouse The Jackson County Courthouse, located at Jackson and Wesley Streets, was constructed in 1927-28 as the Elk's Temple.  It was a very elaborate lodge and a center of... » More Information

Hours

Mon-Fri: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

  • Jackson County Courthouse

The Jackson County Courthouse, located at Jackson and Wesley Streets, was constructed in 1927-28 as the Elk's Temple.  It was a very elaborate lodge and a center of recreational activity for several years.  The Jackson Elks spared no expense when building their new headquarters which included a swimming pool, auditorium, Spanish-decor restaurant and cafeteria, rooms for visiting Elks, handball courts, bowling alley, Turkish bath, barber shop and beauty parlor, and eight shops.  When the Depression hit a few years later, they couldn’t make the payments, so they returned to their former hall at 310 Mechanic.   In 1935, it was purchased by the county from the bond holders for a total of $27,000, which included $17,500 in delinquent taxes. It was remodeled for the cost of $360,000 and occupied by the county in the spring of 1937.  Since then, it has served as the seat of government for the County of Jackson.

» Less Information

Jackson County Genealogical Society

(517) 768-9266
Website | Facebook
211 W Ganson Street
Suite 170
Jackson, MI 49201

Jackson County Genealogical Society The Jackson County Genealogical Society, an organization formed and dedicated to the encouragement  and enhancement of genealogy, was formed in 1977. Society objectives are: Preserve and make available for genealogical... » More Information

Hours

Tue & Thu: 1:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Sat: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm

  • Jackson County Genealogical Society

The Jackson County Genealogical Society, an organization formed and dedicated to the encouragement  and enhancement of genealogy, was formed in 1977.

Society objectives are:

  • Preserve and make available for genealogical research the records of the Jackson County Michigan area and beyond.
  • Encourage and assist the study of family history, promote the exchange of genealogical knowledge, and encourage the central deposit of genealogical records.
  • Cooperate with other genealogical societies and assist Jackson County area libraries in collecting genealogical records, expanding their collections of published genealogical records, and publishing genealogical material.
  • Publish material of genealogical interest and use to Society members.

The JCGS Library is staffed by volunteers and always eager to help you with your genealogical requests. A donation to the Society for research and associated costs is appreciated!

» Less Information

Jackson County Tower Building - Jackson County Government Offices

(517) 788-4331
Website | Facebook
120 W. Michigan Ave.
Jackson, MI 49201

Jackson County Tower Building - Jackson County Government Offices Designed by prominent Detroit Architect, Albert Kahn and completed in 1929 after the merger of Union Bank and Peoples National Bank. The 17-story Tower Building was at that time referred... » More Information

Hours

Mon-Fri: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm

  • Jackson County Tower Building - Jackson County Government Offices

Designed by prominent Detroit Architect, Albert Kahn and completed in 1929 after the merger of Union Bank and Peoples National Bank. The 17-story Tower Building was at that time referred to as the "Golden Towers." In 1933, the National Bank of Jackson was organized as the successor to the Union and Peoples National Bank.  Operations continued in the original building though the National Bank never took ownership. In 1958, the National Bank vacated and for several years Consumers Power Company leased space.

In 1975, it was sold to the County for a nominal sum by the Raymond Kolowich family and became the County Tower Building.  The County Commissioners' Chamber is located on the 2nd floor up the marble flight of stairs.  Italian leaded stained glass windows surround the chamber which was originally the main banking area. A long-awaited restoration of this lobby was finished in July of 2011.  This former bank lobby has been restored to its former glory with repairs made to the stained glass windows, vaulted plaster ceiling and wood paneling that surrounds the 7,200-square-foot room. Three-tiered chandeliers and a marble balustrade were also installed. It is now accessible to the public customer service area housing the county treasurer, register of deeds and equalization department.

This "castle-topped" structure is one of Jackson's most treasured buildings and continues to reign as downtown Jackson's tallest landmark.

Another unique feature of this building is not historical in nature but biological. A pair of peregrine falcons has chosen to nest and breed atop this iconic building, a first in Jackson County.  The happy couple who usually mate for life can be seen in the season on their very own webcam.

Our County consists of 160,000 citizens, 19 townships, 7 Villages, and the State of Michigan designated the City of Jackson as a “ Cool City ”. Here you will also find 16 public and 16 private parochial schools, along with Jackson College, Baker College, and Spring Arbor University. In addition, there are over 250 churches, over 500 holes of golf, of which several are nationally ranked courses. We have 188 lakes, 27 public parks, an International Speedway, a symphony orchestra, a County managed Regional Airport, and a State ranked environmental center. We encourage you and your family to experience Jackson County and discover our treasures!

» Less Information

Jackson District Library - Carnegie Branch

(517) 788-4087
Website | Facebook
244 W. Michigan Ave.
Jackson, MI 49201

Jackson District Library - Carnegie Branch Inspiring our community to discover, learn and succeed! Jackson County residents can enjoy library services of the highest quality while visiting our 13 locations or the virtual branch at www.myjdl... » More Information

Hours

Carnegie Library Hours:

Monday - Thursday: 9:00 am - 9:00 pm

Friday: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Saturday: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm

Sunday: Closed

Meeting Facility Features
  • AV Equipment Available
  • Air Conditioned
  • WiFi Available
  • Multiple Rooms or Facilities
Event Capacity
  • 80
  • Jackson District Library - Carnegie Branch

Inspiring our community to discover, learn and succeed! Jackson County residents can enjoy library services of the highest quality while visiting our 13 locations or the virtual branch at www.myjdl.com. The library strives to meet our community’s ever-changing needs for educational, cultural and recreational information. Patrons can reserve books, download eBooks, and eAudiobooks, and check the status of their library account by logging in to the online catalog through the web page 24/7. The library’s computerized catalog is also linked with the Jackson College Learning Resources Center Library.

In addition to the library services and collections, the library offers programs for all ages at all our locations throughout the year. Most programs and services are free of charge.  For more information, call 517-788-4087 or visit www.myjdl.com.

In 1901, Andrew Carnegie donated $70,000 for the construction of a library building in the city of Jackson. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places and the State of Michigan Register of Historic Sites, this Neo-Classical style building was designed and built in 1906. The facility features inlaid terrazzo floors, intricate ceiling moldings, Carrara white marble staircase and numerous pieces of art. The Carnegie building became the main branch for the newly created district in 1978. In 1981, with a bequest from Mrs. Mable MinterVan Orman, a circular structure was built at the rear of the library. This added an elevator, history room, back lobby and a children's storytelling room. 

Meeting Rooms are available for rent free of charge. See their website for rental policies.

Carnegie Library - Reserve by calling the Reference desk at (517) 788-4087, ext. 1339 or 1340.

McIntyre Room (Seats 24)

Sergeant Auditorium (Seats 80)

Eastern Branch – Reserve by calling the East Branch at (517) 788-4074.

Knibloe Room (Seats 70) 

Meijer Branch – Reserve by calling Meijer at (517) 788-4480.

Two study rooms available on a first come, first serve basis (Each Room Seats 4)  Also, the Meijer Digital Studio offers space for a wide variety of activities.Three additional meeting rooms are also available!

The Child, The Parent, and The Book, by Freeman L. Schoolcraft, bronze, and limestone, 1988, Jackson District Library/Carnegie Branch, Michigan Ave.

The Carnegie building is graced with an outdoor public sculpture a parent and child reading and was created by famed sculptor Freeman Schoolcraft, Jackson High School graduate. Freeman Schoolcraft's The Child, The Parent, and The Book sits beside the main entrance to the Jackson District Library welcoming patrons while celebrating the right to read and symbolizing the value of parents and children learning and growing together.

» Less Information

Jackson Gas Company

229 S. Mechanic St.
Jackson, MI 49201

Jackson Gas Company Built circa 1912 for the offices and showrooms of the Jackson Gas Company where gas-powered lighting equipment and appliances were sold. After housing a commercial printer into the 1990's, the interior... » More Information

  • Jackson Gas Company

Built circa 1912 for the offices and showrooms of the Jackson Gas Company where gas-powered lighting equipment and appliances were sold. After housing a commercial printer into the 1990's, the interior was painstakingly renovated. This lovely space provided a wonderful atmosphere for the Nomad Bookstore, a locally owned independent bookstore and cafe. Most recently a paint your pottery store, Make It Yours Pottery, occupied this space. The building is currently vacant. 

» Less Information

JTV

(517) 787-8817
Website | Facebook
148 W. Michigan Ave.
Jackson, MI 49201

JTV Studios for local station JTV are housed in what had been the Grinnell music store. The building façade dates from around 1900, but as was common at the time... » More Information

  • JTV

Studios for local station JTV are housed in what had been the Grinnell music store. The building façade dates from around 1900, but as was common at the time much of the building's walls likely belonged to an earlier structure. 

JTV Studios is a full-service video production, web design and marketing services firm serving clients from our offices and studios in Jackson, Michigan. JTV Studios provides corporate video, multimedia presentation, flash animation and web production services. Our aim is to help you, our corporate client, to communicate more effectively, more impressively. This is our strength. We produce much more than just a corporate DVD, graphic sales presentation, training video or a few high-quality web pages for your company. We organize your information, supplying the marketing tools and business intelligence you need to make your next production an outright winner. Working together, we help you discover powerful new ways to communicate to your audience, making them more aware of you, influencing them, and motivating them to change.

» Less Information

Kluk & Kluk DDS formerly a home by Claire Allen

732 W. Michigan Ave.
Jackson, MI 49201

This residential home was designed by famed Jackson Architect Claire Allen.

This residential home was designed by famed Jackson Architect Claire Allen.

» Less Information

Michigan Central Railroad Jackson Amtrak Depot

(517) 787-6385
Website | Facebook
501 E. Michigan Ave.
Jackson, MI 49201

Michigan Central Railroad Jackson Amtrak Depot In operation since September 1, 1873, Jackson’s train depot is the oldest continually operating passenger rail station in the United States! It was also the largest stop on the line... » More Information

Hours

Building open every day 7:00 am - 2:30 pm

  • Michigan Central Railroad Jackson Amtrak Depot

In operation since September 1, 1873, Jackson’s train depot is the oldest continually operating passenger rail station in the United States! It was also the largest stop on the line between Detroit and Chicago in train travel's heyday.The station currently services the Amtrak Wolverine line which still runs from Detroit to Chicago.

The Victorian-Italianate red-brick station used heart pine, ash, oak and walnut woods harvested in Michigan for its interior structures. A carved walnut arch separated the ticket office from the newsstand and women’s waiting room and crystal chandeliers hung overhead.  

Fast Facts

  • After a 32-foot addition in 1901, the building measures 296 feet long by 45 feet wide
  • 2nd in Michigan only to Detroit in terms of passenger boardings and freight tonnage handled in its heyday
  • The park in front of the depot was known as Le Grande Square and was once much larger and extending to the north
  • The express building to the east of the depot was built between 1880 and 1900 to handle mail and other shipments
  • The depot, express building, and Le Grande Square are listed on the US Department of the Interior's National Register of Historic Places
  • Famous people to stop at the Jackson Depot include President McKinley in 1899, President Taft in 1910 and Presidential Candidates Dwight Eisenhower in 1952 and John F. Kennedy in 1960
  • The mural in the archway inside was painted by Jackson artist Lee Bauman for the Bicentennial Celebration and feature French turbo trains that Amtrak operated in the 1970s
  • In 1926, 63 passenger trains a day passed through the Jackson Depot and it is estimated a total of 422,000 passengers would have used the station that year
  • Today about 28,000 passengers each year board or alight from the 6 daily Amtrak trains stopping at the Jackson Depot

» Less Information

Michigan Theatre

(517) 783-0962
Website | Facebook
124 N. Mechanic St.
Jackson, MI 49201

Michigan Theatre The Michigan Theatre was the last and largest theater to be built in downtown Jackson, opening in 1930. Now a nonprofit organization, the Michigan Theatre of Jackson Inc., is working to... » More Information

Hours

Group tours of the Michigan Theatre are available by appointment please email Steve Tucker to schedule a tour. 

Meeting Facility Features
  • On-site Catering Available
  • AV Equipment Available
  • Air Conditioned
  • Alcohol Permitted
  • Bartending Services Available On-Site
  • WiFi Available
  • Multiple Rooms or Facilities
Event Capacity
  • 1400
  • Michigan Theatre

The Michigan Theatre was the last and largest theater to be built in downtown Jackson, opening in 1930. Now a nonprofit organization, the Michigan Theatre of Jackson Inc., is working to restore the theater to its original luster. It was originally built in Spanish Renaissance style with an ornate polychrome terra-cotta façade, carved walnut furniture, plush carpeting, heavy damask draperies, and stained-glass light fixtures. The Michigan Theatre is considered one of the most splendid theaters in the state. Their mission is to provide today's entertainment in an incredible historic venue. Events include kids movies, classic films, live theater and concerts.

The Theatre won a Preservation Gem Award from Michigan Architectural Foundation in 2012. The award is presented to an outstanding preservation project that includes restoration or rehabilitation of an element of a building, or of a structure or an object. It was awarded to the Michigan Theatre of Jackson for the Cupola Restoration. The cupola above the Mechanic Street Façade of the 1930 Michigan Theatre of Jackson was meticulously restored as part of a 20-plus year effort to rehabilitate the theatre.

» Less Information

Morris Building

(517) 789-5577
171 W. Michigan Ave.
132 S. Jackson St.
Jackson, MI 49201

Morris Building Formerly known as Horace Ismon Building, this building was erected for Jackson dry goods merchant Horace Ismon in 1853. Ismon had begun his mercantile career in Paw Paw during the 1840s.... » More Information

  • Morris Building

Formerly known as Horace Ismon Building, this building was erected for Jackson dry goods merchant Horace Ismon in 1853. Ismon had begun his mercantile career in Paw Paw during the 1840s. Ismon was a founding director of the Jackson County Bank in 1872. Having no children of their own, Ismon and his wife, Clara, mentored youth interested in the mercantile trade.  A lavish gala attended by three hundred guests and future governor Austin Blair celebrated the opening of the Ismon Building on February 22, 1853.

The building has housed a variety of enterprises, among them Horace Ismon's dry goods store, a pharmacy, and a home health service. From 1927 to 1972, the Fairy Garden Chinese restaurant occupied the upper floors. It is believed to have been the first Jackson establishment with air conditioning (installed in 1933). Current tenants include Edward Jones.

» Less Information

Mt. Evergreen Cemetery

(517) 788-4078
Website
1047 Greenwood Ave.
Jackson, MI 49203

Mt. Evergreen Cemetery Founded on August 18, 1843, Mt. Evergreen is the City of Jackson’s oldest cemetery. Originally consisting of 11 acres in 1843 and expanded to its now 25 acres in 1863. Morrell Street was moved... » More Information

Hours

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday  - 10am - 3pm
Closed Wednesday
In the event of a Monday holiday, the office will be open that Wednesday from 10am - 3pm.

  • Mt. Evergreen Cemetery

Founded on August 18, 1843, Mt. Evergreen is the City of Jackson’s oldest cemetery. Originally consisting of 11 acres in 1843 and expanded to its now 25 acres in 1863. Morrell Street was moved north a year later to produce an area dedicated for the burial of soldiers. Soldiers from the War of 1812, the American Civil War, and both World Wars I & II are buried in this cemetery. To this day, the annual Memorial Day parade ends at Mt. Evergreen’s Soldier Field for a memorial ceremony.

Mt. Evergreen Cemetery was listed in the State Register of Historic Sites in 1988. The cemetery contains not one, but two famous sculptures memorializing the dead.

Laura Evans Memorial also known as Civil War Soldiers Monument, by Frederick Hibbard, bronze and granite, 1916, Photo Credit: Dale Fisher

Jackson holds the honor of mustering the first volunteer regiment of Civil War soldiers in the state and lost over 3,200 men. Thus it is appropriate, that a town the size of Jackson should have a second Civil War memorial, after Defense of the Flag, located amid the graves of those who made the supreme sacrifice. A half-century after the war, Laura Evans established a trust in her will to fund a monument to the soldiers buried in Mt. Evergreen Cemetery in memory of her father, mother, and husband. Frederick C. Hibbard, a Chicago sculptor who studied under Lorado Taft (sculptor of Defense of the Flag and the William A. Foote Memorial), created the memorial inscribed with its patron's name. 

Sparks Memorial also known as Roses of Yesterday, by Harriet Frishmuth, bronze and granite, copyright 1923, Photo Credit: Dale Fisher

Mt. Evergreen Cemetery can point with pride to the Sparks Memorial, a commemorative bronze female figure, smaller scale than Taft’s Foote Memorial, but just as poignant and emotional. The statue marks the graves of several members of the Sparks family -- a prominent local family that left its mark on the community most noticeably through the donation of Cascades Park, originally known as Sparks Foundation County Park. Harriet Frishmuth (1880-1980) created dozens of delicate maidens similar to that on the Sparks Memorial during her long and productive career for which she earned numerous awards in the first two decades of the 20th century.

» Less Information

P & T Fitness

(517) 789-6362
Website | Facebook
225 N Jackson St.
Jackson, MI 49201

P & T Fitness Welcome to Pedal & Tour Cycling and Fitness, Jackson's premier destination for  bikes & exercise equipment. We carry a complete line of bicycles from Giant and Raleigh, so... » More Information

Hours

Monday & Friday 10-8
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday 10-6
Saturday 10am-5pm
Sunday Closed

  • P & T Fitness

Welcome to Pedal & Tour Cycling and Fitness, Jackson's premier destination for  bikes & exercise equipment. We carry a complete line of bicycles from Giant and Raleigh, so whether you're looking to ride to the ice cream stand, or to the top of the Alps, we've got you covered.

We do more than bikes. Pedal and Tour is also Jackson County's largest source of exercise equipment. Precor, Vision, and Tuff Stuff; they're the best brands in fitness and we've got them all. We also offer FREE DELIVERY & SET UP! Ask an associate for details.

We're conveniently located in downtown Jackson in the historic C.E. Hamlin building. We always have new products coming in; shop for accessories for your bike or your fitness equipment. Bike need a tune-up? We have a full-service repair area to take care of all your maintenance needs. Whatever you need, we've got you covered.  Stop in and see us today.

This Commercial Italianate building was built as either a wagon-makers or a feed store, in the boom years following the American Civil War, circa 1880. For many years, it served as the home of C.E. Hamlin Auto Supply. The building was purchased and renovated by George Webster to relocate his business downtown and remodel the upper floors into residential units. 

» Less Information

St Demetrius Orthodox Church

517-414-3829 for tours | 517-784-0116 Church Office
Website
3043 Seymour Rd.
Jackson, MI 49201

St Demetrius Orthodox Church St. Demetrius Church, purchased for $1.00 in 1960, was originally built as a one-room schoolhouse.  Today the structure is something altogether different.  Still set in a rural area resonating with... » More Information

Hours

Sunday Service 9:30 am

Groups tours for 12 or more by appointment only.

$15.00 a person

  • St Demetrius Orthodox Church

St. Demetrius Church, purchased for $1.00 in 1960, was originally built as a one-room schoolhouse.  Today the structure is something altogether different.  Still set in a rural area resonating with the peace of nature, the colorful interior of St. Demetrius contrasts with the pastoral colors of its surroundings. The interior walls and ceilings are covered with brightly colored paintings called frescos. In addition, individual Icons are held in place by a 33-foot long by 9-foot high hand carved wooden wall of icons called an “Iconostasis.”

Click here to download the 2014 brochure.

Group Tour Information

On this engaging 2 hour tour, experience how our world-renown Iconographer, Niculai Enochi, uses an authentic Byzantine method of painting to adorn an exquisite church – a church equal to any you can see in Europe right here in Jackson!  The Orthodox tradition of Iconography, often called, “Windows to Heaven,” originated about 1800 years ago. This Iconography, through its vivid visual depictions, truly brings the stories of the Bible to life.

The artistic, historical and personalized tour is given by Father Dusan, a delightful master of presentation.  

After experiencing the beautiful Icons and their intriguing history, thoroughly enjoy sitting in the beautiful dining area as you drink a cup of coffee with a slice of famous and unforgettably delicious Baklava baked by the Baklava Bakers of the Sisterhood of St. Demetrius Church. 

Please see the St. Demetrius Photo Gallery for a sneak peek.

Newly renovated parking lot to accommodate tour buses.

» Less Information

St. Johns Catholic Church

(517) 784-0553
Website | Facebook
711 N. Francis St.
Jackson, MI 49201

St. Johns Catholic Church St. John's was constructed in 1857 as a Gothic brick building. Later the red brick exterior of the church was replaced with Indiana limestone.This great building, although enlarged several... » More Information

Hours

Daily Mass

Monday & Wednesday: 8:30 AM
Tuesday: 5:30 PM
Friday: 9:00 AM

Weekend Mass
Saturday: 4:15 PM, 5:45 PM
Sunday: 8:00 AM, 10:00 AM, 12:00 PM

  • St. Johns Catholic Church

St. John's was constructed in 1857 as a Gothic brick building. Later the red brick exterior of the church was replaced with Indiana limestone.This great building, although enlarged several times, has been in continuous use and is the oldest church building in the Diocese of Lansing. St. John's is the oldest Catholic Church in Jackson and was the only church of this denomination in the city until 1901. 

Photo Courtesy of Jackson District Library Archives.

» Less Information

St. Mary’s Star of the Sea

(517) 784-7184
Website | Facebook
120 E. Wesley St.
Jackson, MI 49201

St. Mary’s Star of the Sea In 1880, a second Catholic parish was approved for the city of Jackson. It was to be a Gothic style brick building with the steeple rising 180 feet.  The building sat... » More Information

Hours

Weekday Mass:
12:05 PM
Weekend Masses:
Saturday: 5:30 PM
Sunday: 8:00 AM, 
10:00 AM

  • St. Mary’s Star of the Sea

In 1880, a second Catholic parish was approved for the city of Jackson. It was to be a Gothic style brick building with the steeple rising 180 feet.  The building sat six hundred people, but within 20 years the first church had become inadequate in size and admission cards were issued to parishioners for Mass attendance.

In 1910, plans were announced for a new church, however building plans were delayed by World War I. The basement was ready and used for Midnight Mass on Christmas of 1923, however, it was not completed until 1926.

It is constructed of steel framework with an exterior limestone veneer and is a combination of Byzantine and traditional Romanesque architecture.  The steeple does indeed rise 180 feet.  The southwest corner houses the 2,700-pound bell, cast in 1902 for the parish's original church.  All three towers are capped with copper sheeting, with a gold-leafed metal clad cross on top. The front features three sets of double doors of copper and bronze.  Over the entrance is a figure of Mary and the words "Domus Mea Domus Orationis Est" which translated from the Latin is  "My House is a House of Prayer" (Isaiah 56:7).

All of the stained glass windows, "Stations of the Cross", and mosaic "Our Lady Star of the Sea" were purchased after WWI from Tyrolese Art Glass Company in Innsbruck, Austria.  The windows are said to be the finest in the country. They are listed in the Michigan Stained Glass Census with special emphasis on the "Christ and the Battlefield Window". Today the stained glass is considered priceless and a restoration process has begun that will last several years. 

St. Mary Star of the Sea School celebrated its 125th anniversary in 2014 making one of the oldest schools in Michigan still operating in the same building. 

» Less Information

St. Paul’s Episcopal Church

(517) 787-3370
Website | Facebook
309 S. Jackson St.
Jackson, MI 49201

St. Paul’s Episcopal Church On December 8, 1838, the founders of St. Paul's Parish met and began the task of drafting the Articles of Organization for a "new Protestant society". The Parish of St. Paul'... » More Information

Hours

Sundays
8:00 am Eucharist
9:15 am Choir/Adult Forum
10:10 am Church School
10:30 am Eucharist/coffee hour

  • St. Paul’s Episcopal Church

On December 8, 1838, the founders of St. Paul's Parish met and began the task of drafting the Articles of Organization for a "new Protestant society". The Parish of St. Paul's Church was officially established with the signing by twenty-two persons of the articles of Organization on January 12, 1839. Its first house of worship, a small frame church completed at a cost of $2,500 by vestry member Lemuel S. House, was consecrated on October 20, 1840.

By 1850, the group had outgrown its original home, and plans were begun to build a larger church. Designed by Buffalo architect Calvin N. Otis, the new Romanesque Revival church was consecrated on January 11, 1853. Remodeled and expanded several times, it is one of the oldest Episcopal church structures in southern Michigan. In 2014, the church celebrated its 175th anniversary.

Photo Courtesy of Jackson District Library Archives

» Less Information

Stanton Group formerly Hayes Home

714 W. Michigan Ave.
Jackson, MI 49201

Designed for industrialist Clarence Hayes, co-owner of Kelsey Hayes, by Jackson Architect Claire Allen, this house is French Chateaux style built in limestone with a slate roof.

Designed for industrialist Clarence Hayes, co-owner of Kelsey Hayes, by Jackson Architect Claire Allen, this house is French Chateaux style built in limestone with a slate roof.

» Less Information

Temple Beth Israel

(517) 784-3862
Website | Facebook
801 West Michigan Ave.
Jackson, MI 49202

Temple Beth Israel is a Reform synagogue formed in 1862 by Jews of German background. The Temple developed out of the Hebrew Benevolent Society, which had been organized in 1858, and... » More Information

Hours

 Temple Beth Israel holds Shabbat services on the first Saturday of each month at 10:00 a.m., and on Friday evenings at 8:00 p.m. (excluding the Friday preceding a Saturday service).

Temple Beth Israel is a Reform synagogue formed in 1862 by Jews of German background. The Temple developed out of the Hebrew Benevolent Society, which had been organized in 1858, and was the second Reform congregation in Michigan. Today they are a passionate congregation comprised of both fifth- and first- generation members. The building contains 5 pictorial stained glass windows titled Peace, Justice, Good Deeds and The Torah.

Temple Beth Israel Cemetery is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. This 1-acre burial plot; located in Jackson, Michigan; contains over 270 burials representing four and five generations of Jackson families. The cemetery was dedicated in 1859 and is still accepting burials making it Michigan’s oldest Jewish Cemetery in continuous use

» Less Information

Temple Beth Israel Cemetery

(517) 784-3862
Website | Facebook
420 N. West Ave.
Jackson, MI 49201

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this 1-acre burial plot contains over 270 burials representing four or five generations of Jackson families. The cemetery was dedicated in 1859 and is... » More Information

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, this 1-acre burial plot contains over 270 burials representing four or five generations of Jackson families. The cemetery was dedicated in 1859 and is still accepting burials making it Michigan’s oldest Jewish Cemetery in continuous use.  Jews arrived in Jackson in 1842 but did not construct a synagogue until the early 1860s. The synagogue, Temple Beth Israel, now sits at 801 W. Michigan Ave. Jackson.

» Less Information

The Ionia

509-519 W. Michigan Ave.
Jackson, MI 49201

Named for the Ionia sandstone used in its construction, this series of townhouses was built over a twelve year period for specific owners.  Claire Allen's clever mix of... » More Information

Named for the Ionia sandstone used in its construction, this series of townhouses was built over a twelve year period for specific owners.  Claire Allen's clever mix of Flemish and Tudor architecture works for the building.  The indented backyards allow more light into the units.  Claire Allen, famed Jackson architect himself lived in 515 after his wife died and stayed there the rest of his life. He died in 1942 at age 89.

» Less Information

The Mann House

(517) 524-8943
Website
205 Hanover St.
Concord, MI 49237

The Mann House The Mann House is an excellent example of typical middle-class domestic architecture of the early 1880s. Built in 1883, the Mann House is now a museum operated by the Michigan Historical... » More Information

Hours

Memorial Day to Labor Day

Thursday through Sunday

10 a.m. and 4 p.m.

  • The Mann House

The Mann House is an excellent example of typical middle-class domestic architecture of the early 1880s. Built in 1883, the Mann House is now a museum operated by the Michigan Historical Center. It is furnished with the 19th century heirlooms of the Mann family including the family's sleigh, buggy, and many household implements. Caretakers recreate holiday celebrations by decorating and arranging the museum as it would have been seen during those times. A marbleized slate fireplace, peculiar catch-release doorknobs, and eight rooms of period furniture adorn the two-story house. Admission to Mann House is free.

» Less Information

The Original Jackson Historic Prison Tours

(517) 817-8960
Website | Facebook
100 Armory Court
Jackson, MI 49202

The Original Jackson Historic Prison Tours On the Original Jackson Historic Prison tour, enjoy lively, interactive stories of inmates past and present, prison lore and more. Walk inside the massive walls as bygone prisoners, guards, and... » More Information

Contact
Judy Gail Krasnow
Hours

RESERVATIONS ARE REQUIRED FOR ALL TOURS.

Call 517-817-8960 or email to make a reservation and inquiry about combination tours.

  • The Original Jackson Historic Prison Tours

On the Original Jackson Historic Prison tour, enjoy lively, interactive stories of inmates past and present, prison lore and more. Walk inside the massive walls as bygone prisoners, guards, and wardens come alive with tales of corruption, mayhem, punishments and relief.

THE FIRST DEGREE is the full tour. It lasts approximately 4-5 hours with lunch. Jackson Journeys is flexible and can work time-wise with your schedule.

THE SECOND DEGREE is a tour for those with time constrictions. Groups can tour through Michigan’s First State Prison only. This tour does not include lunch. It lasts approximately 2.5 hours.

COMBINATION TOURS

Jackson Journeys LLC is happy to arrange an itinerary for you both in Jackson and en route to and from Jackson. Jackson Journeys offers combination tours such as:

FROM PRISON TO PARADISE

After the Prison tour, you drive ten minutes to a Jackson gem -- St. Demetrius Orthodox Church, with its utterly exquisite iconography, wood carving, delightful tour by Father Dusan, topped with “divine” homemade Baklava and coffee. This makes a perfect “all-day” journey to Jackson.

YOU MAY ALSO STAY OVERNIGHT

After this full- day tour, go to your hotel, eat dinner at a local Jackson Restaurant, and let your dessert be a concert of your choice at the Jackson Symphony Orchestra Hall, where you can choose from 12 small musical ensembles including Jazz, Chamber Music, Country-Western, Eastern European (Klezmer), and several more.

THE NEXT DAY JACKSON JOURNEYS WILL BOOK OTHER VENUES IN JACKSON, such as a tour of Michigan International Speedway, Dahlem Nature Conservancy, Ye Ole Carriage Shop, Sparks Park & The Cascades musical waterfalls, and more. As you travel onward – east, west, south or north, Jackson Journeys can arrange your itinerary.

RESERVATIONS ARE REQUIRED FOR ALL TOURS. Check out HistoricPrisonTours.com for further information about price, menu, FAQ’s and to read the outstanding testimonials about the tour, created by founder/director Judy Gail Krasnow and her company, Jackson Journeys LLC.

» Less Information

The Pickle Barrel Deli

(517) 962-2559
Website | Facebook
156 W. Michigan Ave.
Jackson, MI 49201

The Pickle Barrel Deli Gourmet deli food, meats and cheeses by the pound, loaves of bread, and catering for just about any event! The Pickle Barrel Deli, serving high-quality deli sandwiches, homemade soups... » More Information

Hours

Mon - Fri: 10:00 am - 6:00 pm
Sat: 11:00 am - 4:00 pm

  • The Pickle Barrel Deli

Gourmet deli food, meats and cheeses by the pound, loaves of bread, and catering for just about any event! The Pickle Barrel Deli, serving high-quality deli sandwiches, homemade soups and salads. Featuring Zingerman Bakehouse bread & pastries. Preservative-free meats and bread. Gluten-free bread available upon request. All products they use and sell are Michigan made. All packaging products are from Michigan Greensafe, using sugar and corn by-products...no petroleum based plastics. Open Monday through Friday 10 am to 6 pm and Saturday 11 am to 4 pm. "Keep it Local, Keep it Fresh"

This limestone building originally housed City Bank until 1927 when a new bank tower, now City Hall, was built across the street.

Voted Jackson's Best Kept Lunch Secret of 2013

» Less Information

Tompkins Historical Museum

517-569-2535
Website | Facebook
10138 N. Tompkins Rd.
Rives Junction , MI 49277

Tompkins Historical Museum Sheridan Stewart, born on his family’s Centennial Farm in Tompkins Township on November 7, 1917, described himself as, “a farmer and an investor”. In his final... » More Information

Hours

Museum Shown for groups by appointment through winter months.
Museum is open the 4th Saturday of each month except January & February
Contact Nancy Seydell, Curator    (517) 569-2535

  • Tompkins Historical Museum

Sheridan Stewart, born on his family’s Centennial Farm in Tompkins Township on November 7, 1917, described himself as, “a farmer and an investor”. In his final years, he made the decision to leave his 175-acre family Centennial Farm to the Township of Tompkins to be used for a new town hall, fire station, recreational facilities and a township museum. This 175-acre Centennial Farm is said to be the largest acreage ever donated to any township in the State of Michigan.

Today the Tompkins Historical Society has restored the family home into a museum open to the public for tours and special events, including the annual Tompkins Freedom Festival and Steam Engine Show every September. Improvements continue on the property to restore buildings and develop nature trails. The Tompkins Historical Museum features a three-story farmhouse museum with working rug loom, an 1838 replica log cabin and a one-room schoolhouse.

» Less Information

Trinity Lutheran Church

517.784.3135
Website | Facebook
122 W. Wesley Street
Jackson, MI 49201

Trinity Lutheran Church The Founding of Trinity congregation dates back to the early 1860's. The first house of worship was a small frame building on the corner of Cortland and Mechanic Streets. ... » More Information

Hours

Saturday:
Adult Bible Study at 5:00 pm
Divine Worship Saturday at 6:00 pm 

Sunday:
Sunday School /Adult Bible Study at 9:00 am

Divine Worship Sunday - 10:15 am

Meeting Facility Features
  • AV Equipment Available
  • Air Conditioned
  • Multiple Rooms or Facilities
Event Capacity
  • 250
  • Trinity Lutheran Church

The Founding of Trinity congregation dates back to the early 1860's. The first house of worship was a small frame building on the corner of Cortland and Mechanic Streets. In 1880, several lots on Wesley Street (our present location) were purchased and the second church building was erected on this site and dedicated on November 20, 1881. The present church building, Trinity's third house of worship, was dedicated in 1921.

In 1970, an extensive church renovation including the purchase of the world-famous reredos, or altarpiece, known as "The Altar of Mercy" done by renowned sculptor, Otto Haiti of Germany.

Senior Pastor: Pastor Eric Ekong 

Trinity Lutheran School
4900 McCain Rd
Jackson, MI 49203

In 1961, a new school building was undertaken at 4900 McCain Rd  The institution that continues today focuses on Academic Excellence, A Safe & Respectful Place and the Sharing the Love of God. The school includes Grades K-8, Preschool, Infant & Toddler Care. 

School Principal: Timothy Frusti, PhD

» Less Information

Under the Oaks City Park

(517) 788-4040
Website | Facebook
418 Second St.
Jackson, MI 49201

Under the Oaks City Park Photo Courtesy of Dale Fisher. This is a historical site honoring the birthplace of the Republican Party. On July 6, 1854, a state convention of anti-slavery men was held in Jackson,... » More Information

Park Features
  • Flower Garden
  • Benches
  • Under the Oaks City Park

Photo Courtesy of Dale Fisher.

This is a historical site honoring the birthplace of the Republican Party. On July 6, 1854, a state convention of anti-slavery men was held in Jackson, Michigan,  to found a new political party. Since the convention day was hot and the huge crowd could not be accommodated in the hall, the meeting adjourned to an oak grove on "Morgan's Forty" on the outskirts of the town forever known as "Under the Oaks". The park includes a plaque to commemorate the event and benches for resting under the oak trees.

» Less Information

Universalist Church of Concord

200 Hanover St.
Concord, MI 49237

Universalist Church of Concord The First Universalist Church of Concord, constructed in 1866 is typical of the Gothic Revival style. Box pews and a two aisle floor plan reflect the New England origins... » More Information

  • Universalist Church of Concord

The First Universalist Church of Concord, constructed in 1866 is typical of the Gothic Revival style. Box pews and a two aisle floor plan reflect the New England origins of the church design. In 1997 the building was deeded to the Hubbard Memorial Museum Foundation. The church is located within the Concord National Register Historic District. The construction of a Universalist church in Concord reflects the trend of migration from New York State to Michigan in the mid-1800s since a significant number of the founding members of the Universalist Society, and subsequent members of the parish, were originally from New York.

» Less Information

Walker Tavern

517-467-4401 or 517-241-0731
Website
13220 M-50
Brooklyn, MI 49230

Walker Tavern In the mid 19th century, a stagecoach ride from Detroit to Chicago was a grueling five-day trip. Today, Sylvester Walker's stagecoach stop along that historic route offers stories of... » More Information

Hours

Open seasonally, May through October.

  • Walker Tavern

In the mid 19th century, a stagecoach ride from Detroit to Chicago was a grueling five-day trip. Today, Sylvester Walker's stagecoach stop along that historic route offers stories of Michigan's agricultural and travel heritage. Walker Tavern's exhibits focus on life in Michigan in the first half of the 19th century, the frontier and stagecoach era. The tavern includes an 1840s parlor, bar room, dining room and kitchen. The barn at Walker Tavern is a reproduction New England barn that houses exhibits about barns, travel and the historic roads around Walker Tavern. 

Don't Miss Summer Sunday Farmers Markets, The Walker Wheels Vintage Baseball Games, Picnic on the Lawn Concert Series and other great events. Walker Tavern is the home field for the Walker Wheels, a vintage "baseball" team that plays by 1860s rules – no gloves and gentlemanly conduct on the field. Follow the Walker Wheels on Facebook.

» Less Information

Walt’s Health Foods

(517) 784-0568
Website | Facebook
102 W. Michigan Ave.
Jackson, MI 49201

Walt’s Health Foods Walt's Health Foods is a specialty store that supplies the Jackson area with nutritional supplements, herbs, and homeopathic items.  We also have herbal teas, gluten-free items, whole wheat... » More Information

Hours

Mon - Fri: 9:00 am - 5:30 pm
Sat: 9:00 am - 3:00 pm

  • Walt’s Health Foods

Walt's Health Foods is a specialty store that supplies the Jackson area with nutritional supplements, herbs, and homeopathic items.  We also have herbal teas, gluten-free items, whole wheat and sprouted items, nuts, seeds, and dried fruit. Specialty flours, pastas, and such can be found also. We carry a little bit of everything and we are located in the heart of Downtown Jackson!

Originally four Stories including a Mansard roof, this late 19th century building housed City Hall on the upper floors. Walgreen's drug store occupied the street level for many years. The top two floors were removed in the early 1960's when it housed Lyle Hunt Sporting Goods. Walt's Health Food moved into the store space in the early 1980's from a  smaller location around the corner. 

» Less Information

Waterloo Farm Museum and Dewey School Museum

(517) 596-2254
Website | Facebook
13493 Waterloo Munith Road
Grass Lake, MI 49240

Waterloo Farm Museum and Dewey School Museum These museums offer a vivid look into 19th century pioneer life. Costumed tour guides take visitors through a 10-room farmhouse built by a German immigrant and seven additional outbuildings. Then... » More Information

Hours

Open: the Friday after Memorial Day to Labor Day Weekend.  1:00 PM to 5:00 PM Friday, Saturday and Sunday

Both the Dewey School & Farm Museum are open by appointment and for special events.

  • Waterloo Farm Museum and Dewey School Museum

These museums offer a vivid look into 19th century pioneer life. Costumed tour guides take visitors through a 10-room farmhouse built by a German immigrant and seven additional outbuildings. Then groups are encouraged to continue their visit at the Dewey School Museum where pupils will experience a typical school day in the mid-1800s. 

The Waterloo Farm Museum, listed on the National Register of Historic Places as the Siebold Farm/Ruehle (Realy) farm since 1973, is a complex of farm buildings nestled in the curve of a scenic rural road. Highlights include a farmhouse built in 1850s, a rare restored wooden Perkins windmill, a log house with stone fireplace, a woodworking and blacksmith's workshop with working forge, the granary which now serves as a gift shop, and many other buildings that supported 1880s farm life. 

The Dewey School Museum, located three miles north of the Farm, is a one-room schoolhouse that was built in the mid-1800s and held classes until 1956. At Dewey, the schoolmarm teaches her pupils (the visitors) about a one-room schoolhouse and guides them through a typical day.

The Waterloo Farm Museum and Dewey School Museum are run by the Waterloo Area Historical Society. The mission of the WAHA is to foster an understanding and appreciation in children and adults of the pioneer farmers of Michigan, their family life and their children's schooling. The WAHS was formed in 1962 to acquire and restore the Realy Family Farm as a tribute to Michigan's pioneer farmers. 

Special events include:

  • Blacksmith, Soldiers and Log Cabin Weekend
  • Antique Tractor, Truck and Farm Equipment Show
  • Pioneer Day
  • Christmas on the Farm

Group Tour Information

For more group tour information click here. Waterloo Farm Museum provides guided tours of the ten-room farmhouse, log cabin, barns, blacksmith and woodworking workshop, bake house, ice house, milk cellar and windmill. These tours are lead by knowledgeable guides in period dress and are usually combined with the Dewey School museum visit lasting between 3 to 3.5 hours. The gift shop will also be open at this time as well, to browse and purchase books, crafts, toys, collectables and clothing. Please call for group pricing.

» Less Information

Whistle Stop Park Depot

517-522-4332
218 E. Michigan Ave.
Grass Lake, MI 49240

Whistle Stop Park Depot The Central Railroad (later the Michigan Central Railroad, or MCRR) came through Grass Lake in 1842, and the community grew around that first depot. In 1887, Grass Lake was awarded a stone... » More Information

Hours

By appointment only

Park Features
  • Flower Garden
Meeting Facility Features
  • AV Equipment Available
  • Air Conditioned
  • Alcohol Permitted
  • WiFi Available
Event Capacity
  • 100
  • Whistle Stop Park Depot

The Central Railroad (later the Michigan Central Railroad, or MCRR) came through Grass Lake in 1842, and the community grew around that first depot. In 1887, Grass Lake was awarded a stone depot designed by the same architects and with stone from the same quarry as the Ann Arbor station. This historic Romanesque train depot offers displays of local interest.

Available for rentals, receptions, parties, and weddings. Contact the Grass Lake Chamber Office at 517-522-8838 for availability & information.

Heritage Day in September highlights the depot every year with an Open House. Stop in on the first Saturday in December to experience the festival of lights. While checking out this fantastic depot, why not take advantage of the beautiful park with its flower garden and nice gazebo located adjacent to the building.

Named Whistle Stop after the book of the same name written by Grass Lake Native, Maritta Wolff. The movie version of the book starred Ava Gardner. Click here for more books about or set in Jackson County.

» Less Information

Withington City Park

(517) 788-4040
Website | Facebook
410 W. Michigan Ave.
Jackson, MI 49201

Withington City Park The park features the sculpture Defense of the Flag or Jackson County Soldiers and Sailors Monument, an original Lorado Taft sculpture made of bronze and granite, surrounded by a beautiful... » More Information

Park Features
  • Flower Garden
  • Benches
  • Withington City Park
  • Withington City Park
  • Withington City Park

The park features the sculpture Defense of the Flag or Jackson County Soldiers and Sailors Monument, an original Lorado Taft sculpture made of bronze and granite, surrounded by a beautiful flower garden and benches to rest from downtown shopping to enjoy it.

The memorial to the 3,282 men of the First and Seventeenth Michigan Volunteer Infantry regiments was erected by their commander, Gen. William H. Withington. Jackson holds the honor of mustering the first volunteer regiment of Civil War soldiers in the state, although it is not the first Civil War Memorial, it is one of the finest. It is unique in the fact that rather than organize a public fundraising drive as most did, Withington funded the memorial out of his own pocket.

Although the monument bears a date of May 30, 1903, production problems delayed its dedication until June 14, 1904, by which time General Withington had died. Lorado Taft was a famous sculptor of the day and taught at the Art Institute of Chicago.

Postcard Photo Courtesy of the Jackson District Library Archives. 

Modern Photo Courtesy of Dale Fisher Galleries.

» Less Information

Woodland Cemetery

(517) 788-4078
Website
2615 Francis St.
Jackson, MI 49203

Woodland Cemetery Though it may not be the oldest cemetery in the city, it does contain the oldest historical burials. When the City of Jackson was first founded in 1829, the original cemetery... » More Information

Hours

Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday - 10am - 3pm
Closed Wednesday   
In the event of a Monday Holiday, the office will be open that Wednesday from 10am - 3pm

  • Woodland Cemetery

Though it may not be the oldest cemetery in the city, it does contain the oldest historical burials. When the City of Jackson was first founded in 1829, the original cemetery was located on East Michigan Avenue. As our city expanded eastward, the need to properly honor its pioneers conflicted with the growing city landscape. Therefore, in 1890, a 25-acre plot of land was purchased from local landowner, James C. Wood, with the purpose of becoming Woodland Cemetery. The remains of Jackson’s pioneers were disinterred, and reinterred, into the newly designated cemetery.

There are several unique and notable burials here but none as notable as William A. Foote, local entrepreneur. Foote, an Adrian native, founded Jackson Electric Light Works, which evolved into Consumers Energy. He was a robust man who died suddenly of a heart attack at age sixty. His wife founded Jackson's Foote Memorial Hospital in his memory. She also presumably made arrangements for the memorial sculpture in Woodland Cemetery.

William A. Foote Memorial, by Lorado Taft, bronze and granite, 1923

The William A. Foote Memorial is a three dimensional free-standing bronze figure positioned in front of a tall stone slab. Lorado Taft, also the sculptor of Defense of the Flag or Jackson County Soldiers and Sailors Monument, created a grand and eloquent memorial for William Foote. The simple form of the polished black granite slab frames the allegorical figure majestically. The big-boned woman leans forward, holding a scroll of papers across her lap and a pen or stylus in her right hand. She seems lost in thought, perhaps remembering William Foote as she writes of his deeds in her scroll. A small replica of this statue was placed at Taft's own gravestone, in Elmwood, Illinois, entitled "Memory", perhaps because the original was a favorite of Taft's wife.

Special thanks to Ella Sharp Museum for this research.

Photo Credit: Dale Fisher Photography. 

» Less Information

Ye Ole Carriage Shop

(517) 750-4300
Website
3538 Henderson Rd.
Spring Arbor, MI 49283

Ye Ole Carriage Shop Visitors will be delighted by over 60 antique and classic cars on display including 5 one-and-only cars  and 18 made in Jackson including a 1902 JAXON. The museum also features a large display... » More Information

Hours

Gudied group tours are by appointment only.

Meeting Facility Features
  • Air Conditioned
  • Multiple Rooms or Facilities
Event Capacity
  • 105
  • Ye Ole Carriage Shop

Visitors will be delighted by over 60 antique and classic cars on display including 5 one-and-only cars  and 18 made in Jackson including a 1902 JAXON. The museum also features a large display of Sparton Radios and Horns (built in Jackson from 1910 thru the 1950’s), hundreds of original gas and oil pieces, 160 model planes from the world wars, a pedal car collection and a Coca~Cola Soda Bar with an unusual collection of Coca~Cola memorabilia.

Group Tour Information

Groups are encouraged to schedule visits to the Ye Ole Carriage Shop at least one month in advance. The facility can seat up to 65 people in the front hall and roughly 40 in the Coca-Cola room. Groups should expect to spend 1.5 to 2 hours on site. 

Check out the Experience Jackson Photo Gallery for a sneak peak.

» Less Information