The Hubbard Memorial Museum was established in 1986 by Marion Hubbard McFarlane and officially opened in 1991. The museum is open for tours by appointment only. The museum foundation includes 3 properties all featuring beautiful historic buildings.
The Greek Revival Paddock Hubbard House Museum is a pre-civil war (1840s) home which still has its Original Kitchen with open hearth fireplace and Dutch ovens plus many unique family heirlooms. The home was built by the Hungerford Brothers, cousins of the Paddock family, and is listed in both the National and State of Michigan Registries of Historic Places.
The Carriage House is a 19th Century structure that features a cupola and houses the 1976 Bicentennial Pulaski-Concord Covered Wagon. The wagon joined the Bicentennial Wagon Train that arrived at Valley Forge on July 4th, 1976. Concord residents Dr. and Mrs. Keefer purchased a team of Belgian Horses to pull the wagon.
Riceville Greek Revival One Room School is circa 1850s and was moved from outside of Concord on the corner of Gibbs Road and Erie Road to the museum property in the 2000s. It has a fully operational Antique School Bell and an ornate wood carving of the Erie Canal by local artisan, Charles Smith. The property also includes modern outdoor bathroom facilities housed in a structure known as the Hodge Carriage House (1850s) which was relocated from its place on Main Street in Concord and converted on site.
The newest addition to the property is one of the oldest still standing homes in Concord, the Crittenden-Scranton House (1838), which was recently moved to this location (2021) and is in the process of being restored.
The First Universalist Church of Concord is a Gothic style building erected in 1867 and is still in its original location, although no longer serving as a place of worship. This building features European Stained Glass Windows and Antique Iron Chandeliers in the sanctuary plus a recently remodeled fellowship hall in the rear of the building. The property is listed in both the National and State of Michigan Registries of Historic Places.
Typical of the 1890s, this small-style Farm House, deeded to the Foundation in 2020 by the Concord Heritage Association, houses many of the community’s historical artifacts and collections. **This building is not currently physically handicap accessible.
Annual events held at the Hubbard Memorial Museum include the Celtic Festival held each March featuring unique music by local musicians and Irish inspired delicacies served by county renowned bakers and chefs. Civil War Days is held in July and features an afternoon Civil War battle reenactment, blacksmithing, quilting, wool spinning and sheep shearing displays and lots of period costumes, music, and fun. The Ecumenical Christmas Program is every December and includes contributions by several local clergy, musicians, and comedic talent with a cathedral ceiling high Christmas Tree. The program is held at the Universalist Church and has often been referred to as “Just the event to start the Christmas Season and move you in to the Spirit of Christmas.” Refreshment and fellowship follows at the seasonally decorated Paddock Hubbard House and Riceville School, featuring group singing around the piano and parlor music with the Homespun Strings.
While you're visiting the village of Concord, feel free to check out the Old Concord Opera House (now the Concord branch of the Jackson County Library), the Old Original Local Tavern still in operation now as the Cadet Tavern, the Victorian Mann House Museum located across the street from the Universalist Church, and the Mill Pond and "Fall Asleep at the Switch? Not by a Dam Site" mural on the lumber yard building located at the end of the Falling Waters Trail.